Low Fat Apple Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
Made these several times now and found myself making a few changes. Added 1 tsp vanilla (I used the powder), a pinch of salt, 1 tsp. cinnamon, the other half of the apple, chopped (I used a Granny Smith so it wouldn't disappear into the apple when baked), a 1/2 cup dried cherry, cranberry, blueberry mix I bought at Sam's Club...and I had always used the water/dry buttermilk powder combination for the 1 cup liquid buttermilk until I read the review by RTR.MAR to use 1 cup apple juice with 4 tblsps dried buttermilk powder...very nice addition. Thanks much for listing this recipe Jenny!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
This recipe gets 5* from me. Low fat and good, two things that are hard to combine. We like these muffins a lot, and they are only 2pts if you are following Weight Watchers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
Delicious and very hearty! I used whole wheat flour, and I also increased the brown sugar to 1/2 cup instead of 1/4 (the weight watchers points is still 1 even with the extra sugar!). They were pleasantly sweet, although I could probably get away with using 1/3 cup. I also added some cinnamon, and used a whole apple chopped with the peel on istead of just a half. The extra amount of apple made these terrific! Next time I think I'll add a pinch of salt. I individually wrapped these and stuck them in my freezer, so I'm interested to see how they hold up! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
For low fat muffins these are pretty good! I changed a couple of things. I added whole wheat flour instead of regular and added a tsp of cinnamon and a tsp of vanilla. They are NOT sweet, as Jenny already said, so if you want sweeter add more sugar. They end up being 1 point on the weight watchers plan...marvelous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
absolutely marvelous! I also used whole wheat flour. I substituted brown sugar twin and used applesauce, 1/2 cup for the grated apple. I also used the 1 t. vanilla and cinn. I did mix the applesauce in the batter rather vigorously. The muffins came out lighter then usual. Sometimes I sprinkle a little sugar twin on the top of the batter right before I bake them.I make them constantly and they fit right in my weight watchers program.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
Excellent! My boyfriend ate all of them and has been asking for more ever since! I used applesauce because I had it on hand, and light cream because the supermarket seemed to be out of buttermilk. I sprinkled some brown sugar on the top too. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Great recipe! They were very moist and flavorful. I have to admit, I did alter the recipe slightly after reading other reviews, but nothing too drastic. I increased the sugar (which I think was probably a good idea), added a little cinnamon, and I made a double batch of the recipe, so I used one cup all purpose flour, and one cup whole wheat flour. I froze most of them and have been bringing out a few to thaw each evening. They are great for breakfast and snacks during the day. And despite what one reviewer said, I would have no problem serving them to company. . . they look just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
Loved these! Changes made: added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, about 1/4 c. raisins. Instead of buttermilk, I used 4 tbsp dry buttermilk with 1 c. applejuice. great texture, moist with great apple taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
these are the best muffins ever for a totally low fat one. they have one point if you are counting weight watchers. i trippled the recipe and added raisens and got 24 muffins. they are soooo good. will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
Incredibly heavy and satisfying muffins, but the apple gets lost along the way. Here's my improvements: I add 1/3 cup flax seeds, 1/2 cup rolled oats, 1 cup diced apple, and substitute 3/4 cup applesauce for grated apple. A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States