Low Fat Apple Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
They're much too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
"Low fat" and "bran" don't have to mean flavorless, which these were, even though I tried adding more cinnamon as reviewers suggested. I recommend making the "Apple Strudel Muffins" instead, but a) replacing half the flour with oat bran, b) replacing the butter with applesauce, c) cutting the sugar in half, and d) adding a teaspoon of cinnamon. Voila! Low fat apple bran muffins that taste good, unlike these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
these are the best muffins ever for a totally low fat one. they have one point if you are counting weight watchers. i trippled the recipe and added raisens and got 24 muffins. they are soooo good. will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
I add a fair bit of cinnamon when I make these and also cut the apple up into small pieces instead, the grated apple seems to get 'lost' in the mixture. I make these every week and they always turn out well. My mother even asked for the recipe and makes them herself now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
I don't know what I did wrong but these didn't rise at all for me. I also found them a little bland even though I added cinnamon and nutmeg. Next time, I would definately add raisins too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
I initially found these to be a bit bland; however, when served warm with cinnamon butter, they are fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
Made these several times now and found myself making a few changes. Added 1 tsp vanilla (I used the powder), a pinch of salt, 1 tsp. cinnamon, the other half of the apple, chopped (I used a Granny Smith so it wouldn't disappear into the apple when baked), a 1/2 cup dried cherry, cranberry, blueberry mix I bought at Sam's Club...and I had always used the water/dry buttermilk powder combination for the 1 cup liquid buttermilk until I read the review by RTR.MAR to use 1 cup apple juice with 4 tblsps dried buttermilk powder...very nice addition. Thanks much for listing this recipe Jenny!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
these muffins were bland by themselves but good with some honey. my batter turned out very thick and i had to add almost a cup more of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
Loved these! Changes made: added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, about 1/4 c. raisins. Instead of buttermilk, I used 4 tbsp dry buttermilk with 1 c. applejuice. great texture, moist with great apple taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Great recipe! They were very moist and flavorful. I have to admit, I did alter the recipe slightly after reading other reviews, but nothing too drastic. I increased the sugar (which I think was probably a good idea), added a little cinnamon, and I made a double batch of the recipe, so I used one cup all purpose flour, and one cup whole wheat flour. I froze most of them and have been bringing out a few to thaw each evening. They are great for breakfast and snacks during the day. And despite what one reviewer said, I would have no problem serving them to company. . . they look just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States