Low Fat Apple Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
Incredibly heavy and satisfying muffins, but the apple gets lost along the way. Here's my improvements: I add 1/3 cup flax seeds, 1/2 cup rolled oats, 1 cup diced apple, and substitute 3/4 cup applesauce for grated apple. A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
They're much too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
"Low fat" and "bran" don't have to mean flavorless, which these were, even though I tried adding more cinnamon as reviewers suggested. I recommend making the "Apple Strudel Muffins" instead, but a) replacing half the flour with oat bran, b) replacing the butter with applesauce, c) cutting the sugar in half, and d) adding a teaspoon of cinnamon. Voila! Low fat apple bran muffins that taste good, unlike these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
these are the best muffins ever for a totally low fat one. they have one point if you are counting weight watchers. i trippled the recipe and added raisens and got 24 muffins. they are soooo good. will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
I add a fair bit of cinnamon when I make these and also cut the apple up into small pieces instead, the grated apple seems to get 'lost' in the mixture. I make these every week and they always turn out well. My mother even asked for the recipe and makes them herself now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
I don't know what I did wrong but these didn't rise at all for me. I also found them a little bland even though I added cinnamon and nutmeg. Next time, I would definately add raisins too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
I initially found these to be a bit bland; however, when served warm with cinnamon butter, they are fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
Made these several times now and found myself making a few changes. Added 1 tsp vanilla (I used the powder), a pinch of salt, 1 tsp. cinnamon, the other half of the apple, chopped (I used a Granny Smith so it wouldn't disappear into the apple when baked), a 1/2 cup dried cherry, cranberry, blueberry mix I bought at Sam's Club...and I had always used the water/dry buttermilk powder combination for the 1 cup liquid buttermilk until I read the review by RTR.MAR to use 1 cup apple juice with 4 tblsps dried buttermilk powder...very nice addition. Thanks much for listing this recipe Jenny!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
these muffins were bland by themselves but good with some honey. my batter turned out very thick and i had to add almost a cup more of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
Loved these! Changes made: added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, about 1/4 c. raisins. Instead of buttermilk, I used 4 tbsp dry buttermilk with 1 c. applejuice. great texture, moist with great apple taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States