Low-Carb Mashed Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Added a tbsp of butter, and used garlic salt instead of minced. Delicious! My potato loving boyfriend didn't notice the substitution until his plate was cleared. Also, using the immersion blender is a treat, much better than mashing potatoes by hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Nice consistency. Didn't like the taste. Prefer faux mashed potatoes made with cauliflower, cream and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Didn't change a thing. My son doesn't eat cauliflower usually but he ate this up. We loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I microwaved frozen cauliflower in a cover dish until tender. While hot I added a 1/4 block of light cream cheese and season salt and 1/4 tsp minced garlic. I used a hand masher but might try immersion blender. Very easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
My husband made this and we liked it well enough ... for a base. Admittedly we do a lot of flavor in our house so instead of telling you how we like it and didn't make it (in the end) according to recipe I will say - it is a stand up recipe all on it's own and easily adaptable to any palate, even after you've completed it according to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Wheeler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly except I used regular salt and 1/4 of the garlic. Mine was a little soupy, patting the cauliflower dry was not enough, the water needed to be squeezed out inside a kitchen towel. Also the texture was gummy, just like when you overwork regular mashed potatoes. The flavor was ok, I felt the cream cheese overpowered the dish. The last recipe I tried for these called for roasting the cauliflower in the oven which I think is the better way to go. I like the flavor better and you don't have to ring the water (and the vitamins) out of the cauliflower. Also the food processor was overkill, that lead to the bad texture. Stick with a potato masher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kobe Dog

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Great way to make potatoes a little healthier. A
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I've made Mock Mashed Potatoes many times and love it!! Thought I'd try this recipe for a change of pace, because we loved the idea of fresh garlic to spice it up. BEWARE! We ended up tossing the entire thing down the garbage disposal. Two cloves of garlic doesn't seem like much when you're sauteing it, but remember that you're eating it RAW in this recipe, and garlic cloves run the gamut in size. My husband couldn't even eat it, and he'll consume just about anything! My suggestion for this recipe would be to state the EXACT amount of fresh garlic to be added, such as 1/4 tsp. minced. Or even a bit of garlic granules or powder. I left the garlic cloves whole, since I added them to the Vita Mix blender with the other ingredients. As much as we enjoy garlic, I'd omit it next time, or use one very small clove. As a side note, the Vita Mix liquifies the cauliflower too much. I'd use a masher or an immersion blender. A bit of freshly grated Parmesan cheese is an excellent addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Umm... yes please?? In a world where potatoes are not an option, cauliflower to the rescue! I tried this once with sour cream but because I boiled the out of the 'flower, it was too watery. It was still delicious. And yes, I DID eat that bad boy with a straw. The next day I made sure I had cream cheese on hand and voila! Awesome fake mashed 'taters. I should have taken a pic, but while I was thinking about taking said picture, I was eating the subject matter and before I knew it, it was in my belleh. As far as going back to the real thing? I may never go back. Just kidding, yes I will! But, when it's low-carb time, I'll be buying myself 'flowers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kazoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Tasted great but didn't like consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suth3rng1rl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chickamauga, Georgia, USA
Living In: Wappapello, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Cauliflower Fritters

See how easy it is to turn cauliflower into delicious fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States