Low Carb Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I have not made this yet but will very soon, looks great!! Just wanted to mention to J Wurtman, don't give a low rating to a low carb dish for having too much protein and not enough carb. There is never a "good time of year" to carb load. Seek recipes that are not paleo or low carb. It sounds like you didn't make the recipe after all so you should not even review it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This is absolutely yummo. I am tired of the same old low carb meals and thought this looked good. It was beyond good! Unfortunately for me, the low carb didn't mean much because I went back for a second huge bowl so still had way too many calories. If you like Jambalaya, you will love this. I didn't have any shrimp so had to omit them ( Did not want to go to go to the store). Also, I had no Cajun spice so I made my own using a recipe from this site. That too was really good. This is a keeper. My husband loved it too. I will use this in future even for a non low carb and will use this recipe but just add rice to the pan (brown or white) and let it cook while it's simmering. This is in my recipe box and I will definitely use it again and again. Thank you Malory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MicheleM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I followed recipe till the sausage part, I used Chicken sausage stuffed with spinach and red pepper. This recipe was delicious. I did not add any extra spices other than what is on the recipe. Easy, delicious, husband really liked it. It is a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
If it don't have rice it ain't Jambalaya!!! Don't try to pass this off in Louisiana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I made this recipe twice. Once as listed above and a second batch with which I tried to obtain a more traditional type of Jambalaya flavoring. The method as written is good, but doesn't really give it that La type of flavoring. The trick in doing so is first to preferably obviously use a real jambalaya pot. If you don't have one, at least use a cast iron dutch oven or similar. It will make a difference. I also varied it by using the method used here in La of browning a few rashers of bacon first in the pot and using the grease as the oil to brown the vegetables and chicken in instead of olive oil and butter. And do this over medium-high heat. To give it the more brown look I also used the normal method here of splashing in 1 TBS of Worcestershire sauce after browning along with about 1 tsp of brown sugar. It made a good variation this way. I'd also offer the suggestion for those on a low carb diet for diabetic reasons that they add some navy beans or similar to absorb the liquid's flavor. Pre-soaked and partially cooked and then added to the pot after adding the broth will allow the beans to absorb the liquid and retain even more of the flavor. If you're on a low carb diet for other reasons (e.g. weight loss) then avoid the beans until you're well along in your diet as even if they do have a low net carb content, it isn't as beneficial for you as it is for those who are diabetic and for who the beans will lower their insulin requirement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Isle, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Really great! Added riced cauliflower for that familiar look and texture, plus it snuck in another vegetable for the kids as they pick out the peppers. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Are you freaking kidding me?? This was an amazing version of a Cajun classic. I added okra and kale just to add some texture and yumminess. Thank you so much Morgan for sharing this fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I was looking for a low carb main dish to make and ran across this recipe. Being a fan of Cajun cuisine, I decided to give it a try. The only straying from the recipe that I did was adding more hot sauce. Obviously heat is a personal preference, so I spiced it up to my liking. Other than that minor change, I did exactly what was directed. My opinion? Phenomenal! The flavors are amazing and the textures are distictly jambalaya. You will not miss the rice! My only suggestion is to double up on the recipe. It makes a lot as it is, but you'll be wanting more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Awesome! Such a nice change from the same ole' low-carb dishes! For those of you giving this recipe one star because it has no rice, and therefore is not "jambalaya".... if you want rice then don't look at a low-carb recipe, and in the future do not rate a recipe based on its name, that is not the purpose of the rating system. The only change that I made to the recipe was that I sautéed the zucchini, sausage, and shrimp together and added at the last. Ummmm soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Really tasty. I cut back on the green peppers since they don't like me. I used already cooked shrimp because it was 1/2 the price of the raw..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States