Low Carb Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I have made this on the stovetop and in my slowcooker. Here are a few things I do to get the calorie count even lower. Replace olive oil in butter with Butter Flavor Pam and I Can't Believe It's Not Butter. Replace andouille sausage with Hardwood Smoked Chicken Kielbasa and also add turkey sausage. I also use a mix of both white and dark meat chicken to add variety. Also since I am not crazy for shell fish, I use about half of the shrimp just for the fish flavor it brings in. This is so easy to make, leftovers freeze well and it tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
The recipe is great but, when I change the servings and add it to my recipe box it always comes out in the original size serving. Can I do anything about this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I live in New Orleans where jambalaya was born. If you are on low carb diet I suggest you also put in it brown rice. All Jambalaya is cooked with rice always. sometimes pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
There are some very good flavors that get destryoed with the cajun seasooning and hot sauce. We don't use them. Besides the seasoning in the sausage, all we use is salt and pepper. A little basel and pineapple sage is also very good in this dish. We also add onions, cut back on the bell peppers to 1 and add about 4 jalapeno peppers (seeded and devaned, get all the white out.) We really like the flavor of the jalapeno peppers. We are also carrot lovers, so a couple of carrots get added too. It makes a very wonderful meal enjoyed by all of my family, and some neighbors kids too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
awesome recipe. i only did about half the ingredients to feed 2 and it was still way more than enough. im gonna enjoy the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This is my first time to review a recipe since joining your website, though we have enjoyed many delicious meals, snacks, salads and desserts from allrecipes. My husband is absolutely crazy about this dish. He praises my cooking whenever I serve it. I have substitued some red bell pepper, when short of green peppers, used extra garlic or garlic powder, and added a bag of frozen okra to it as we like okra.I usually serve it over a small amount of brown rice. It is definitely a keeper, and one we will enjoy often. Thank you Morgan for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I loved this! I saved this recipe for times when I want an interesting low carb meal but happened to use it when I had family members over. I made it exactly according to the recipe but threw in some rice I had cooked separately at the end of the cooking time because of my company. Everybody thought it was delicious! The flavors were complex and balanced. The heat level was noticeable and almost on the edge for those who aren't accustomed to spice; for those of us who are, the heat was perfect - tantalizing, yet did not compete with any other flavors in the dish. I am looking forward to trying this again and I won't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Awesome recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and everyone came back for seconds! My husband has asked me to make this again three times already and it has only been a week
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was my first time making Jambalaya. I added brown rice(yum) and only used 1 bell pepper and 1 large zucchini. I use a little extra crushes tomatoes and chicken broth. Amazing!!!?? Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Fantastic. Made my own cajun seasoning and probably went 1/4 cup on hot sauce other than that made as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States