Low Carb Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I have been going low carb and saw this recipe. I decided I had to try it after so many rave reviews, and I was not disappointed. I made it almost exactly like the recipe. I did use zucchini and yellow squash for color and also green and red peppers for the same reason. I didn't use the hot sauce, but I did use fire roasted crushed tomatoes. Oh my, it smelled heavenly cooking and the flavor was wonderful. This will definitely go into my favorites file. I will probably look over the reviews again and see if there is anything I might change due to your recommendations. I like the idea of adding a few more vegetables to the mix, the kale and okra sound great. I can't wait to share the recipe with my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This may not be the traditional jambalaya, but it is still very good nonetheless. To all the reviewers saying that if it doesn't have rice, it's not jambalaya, there are a few people watching their carbs these days. It's nice to have options when wanting traditional carb-laden dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Delicious! I used Italian sausage because that was what I had. I cut up a large chicken breast and cooked it right in the soup. I served it on polenta. My husband and I loved it! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I made this just as instructed, and we loved it. I split half of the jambalaya up and put it in baggies and froze for lunches. Also, I mixed and used Allrecipes' "Cajun Spice Mix in A Jar" which is handy because I will be making this regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was great ! I've made it twice so far. I only used sausage because that's all I had. I didn't use all the spice since my family doesn't like it hot. I added old bay and a little Cajun seasoning and used frozen peppers and onions for quick fix. It was wonderful and even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
We tried this a couple of nights ago. I made a double batch for four of us and my (adult) kids gobbled it all up! My 18-year-old son even asked for the recipe so he can make it himself. I did substitute the green peppers for some red bell peppers, some jalapenos and red chiles for extra spice and because we dislike green peppers. I added about a tablespoon of brown sugar/Splenda blend to bring out the flavors a little and cut the acidity. I'm diabetic, so I didn't eat it with rice, but we made some white rice for the non-diabetics which was simple enough to transform it into traditional jambalaya. It was deeeelish! We used an enameled cast iron pot on the stove top which worked really well. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parizienne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I love this recipe so much. I make it exactly as described. When I am making it for mixed company I just add some rice and it's perfect. Ty Ty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Byron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Give it a rest Chucky, it is low carb recipe, of course no one in Louisiana would eat it. Great recipe!!! Love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
this was delicious.. i scaled it down to 2 servings and served bf's over rice.. i ate mine straight up.. i forgot to add the olive oil and butter and just used the grease from the sausage (one of those breakfast links) to sautee the onion and garlic in.. didn't have canned crushed tomatoes so used the same amount of grated fresh tomatoes from our little plant.. only had yellow bell pepper so used that.. used old bay for the cajun seasoning and tapatio for the hot sauce.. had some leftover grilled chicken breast from the night before so the dish had a smokey component that we love.. ty for the recipe.. on a side note.. this is LOW CARB so of course it doesn't have rice in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
loved it - i used chorizo sausage and it came out nice and spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Low-Carb Jambalaya

See how to make a tasty, meat-filled jambalaya without all the carbs.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States