Low Carb Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
My carb-loving DS said he didn't miss the rice! This recipe is packed with protein, and I didn't find the 2 Tbs. of Cajun seasoning too much. I omitted the hot sauce, but I'm tempted to add it next time. I used 2 green peppers and added 3 stalks of celery. I used a 14 oz. package of andouille, and with the other meat, it was enough. There were only 3 other minor additions: fire-roasted tomatoes instead of plain; the addition of about 1 1/2 cups of diced okra; and 1 can of chicken stock instead of 1 cup. I don't think my changes affected the flavor in a major way. For a quick soup, this is a great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Low Carb Jambalaya Haiku: "Didn't use the shrimp, but did the rest all the same. Husband needed rice." Made ours with a Cajun chicken sausage and some cooked, shredded chicken that I'd had frozen, along w/ the chicken broth that had been frozen from said cooked chicken. Didn't bother w/ the shrimp, so followed the recipe's other ingredients and instructions, keeping the Cajun seasoning to a little less than half called for as young tastebuds were eating it too. Despite that I had to make a side of rice to appease to carb-happy husband, I thought this recipe on its own was pretty fantastic, but if I'm not mistaken, doesn't jambalaya also need celery?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I just made this recipe tonight and loved it. I tend to like more spicy dishes so revised this recipe by doing the following - doubling cajun spice, added 3 t. hot sauce, and used san marzano peeled plum tomatoes, chopped, 28 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
It's not low carb!!! Can't stop eating it's so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This is a great recipe! Like most stews, it's tastes even better the next day. I added an additional cup of chicken broth and an extra zucchini. The spice level is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
What Great Flavor. I used smoke sausage instead of andouille. Great job Morgan!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
In consideration of Hubs' sensitive innards and our heat tolerance level of "coward," I prepared a much tamed down version of this using just 1-1/2 tsp. of the Cajun seasoning, no hot sauce and smoked kielbasa; and both of us were pleased. It's so easy to add more heat/spice if you want it, but impossible to take it out once it's there; the point being I would recommend seasoning this to taste. I followed the recipe loosely, using the traditional "holy trinity" of green pepper, onion and celery, sweating the vegetables in bacon fat which leant a pleasant smokiness to the dish. I also used fresh rather than cooked shrimp, adding them at the end, just for a few minutes, before finally adding the cooked chicken until heated through. I loved the addition of the zucchini, which in the absence of the traditional rice, gave this more substance. For those who still want the rice, like Hubs, it is easy enough to serve it on the side. This was excellent. It makes a ton, so we'll be enjoying a quick and delicious repeat tomorrow! Note: this recipe begs for advance prep work, and I'm glad I did. I found it very helpful to have everything chopped and measured (mise en place) ready to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by K. King
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This was amazing! There was so much flavor and the WHOLE family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Awesome!!!! I left out the hot sauce, chose to have it available to those who wanted it. It was still very spicy & delicious. Served it over long grain brown rice. What an outstanding meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I don't like rice I followed this recipe andit was Great!!! My Family love rice but they enjoyed it as well..... Absolutely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Low-Carb Jambalaya

See how to make a tasty, meat-filled jambalaya without all the carbs.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States