Low Carb Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This is a great recipe! Like most stews, it's tastes even better the next day. I added an additional cup of chicken broth and an extra zucchini. The spice level is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
What Great Flavor. I used smoke sausage instead of andouille. Great job Morgan!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
In consideration of Hubs' sensitive innards and our heat tolerance level of "coward," I prepared a much tamed down version of this using just 1-1/2 tsp. of the Cajun seasoning, no hot sauce and smoked kielbasa; and both of us were pleased. It's so easy to add more heat/spice if you want it, but impossible to take it out once it's there; the point being I would recommend seasoning this to taste. I followed the recipe loosely, using the traditional "holy trinity" of green pepper, onion and celery, sweating the vegetables in bacon fat which leant a pleasant smokiness to the dish. I also used fresh rather than cooked shrimp, adding them at the end, just for a few minutes, before finally adding the cooked chicken until heated through. I loved the addition of the zucchini, which in the absence of the traditional rice, gave this more substance. For those who still want the rice, like Hubs, it is easy enough to serve it on the side. This was excellent. It makes a ton, so we'll be enjoying a quick and delicious repeat tomorrow! Note: this recipe begs for advance prep work, and I'm glad I did. I found it very helpful to have everything chopped and measured (mise en place) ready to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by K. King
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This was amazing! There was so much flavor and the WHOLE family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Awesome!!!! I left out the hot sauce, chose to have it available to those who wanted it. It was still very spicy & delicious. Served it over long grain brown rice. What an outstanding meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I don't like rice I followed this recipe andit was Great!!! My Family love rice but they enjoyed it as well..... Absolutely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I have been going low carb and saw this recipe. I decided I had to try it after so many rave reviews, and I was not disappointed. I made it almost exactly like the recipe. I did use zucchini and yellow squash for color and also green and red peppers for the same reason. I didn't use the hot sauce, but I did use fire roasted crushed tomatoes. Oh my, it smelled heavenly cooking and the flavor was wonderful. This will definitely go into my favorites file. I will probably look over the reviews again and see if there is anything I might change due to your recommendations. I like the idea of adding a few more vegetables to the mix, the kale and okra sound great. I can't wait to share the recipe with my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This may not be the traditional jambalaya, but it is still very good nonetheless. To all the reviewers saying that if it doesn't have rice, it's not jambalaya, there are a few people watching their carbs these days. It's nice to have options when wanting traditional carb-laden dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Delicious! I used Italian sausage because that was what I had. I cut up a large chicken breast and cooked it right in the soup. I served it on polenta. My husband and I loved it! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I made this just as instructed, and we loved it. I split half of the jambalaya up and put it in baggies and froze for lunches. Also, I mixed and used Allrecipes' "Cajun Spice Mix in A Jar" which is handy because I will be making this regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States