Low Carb Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was great ! I've made it twice so far. I only used sausage because that's all I had. I didn't use all the spice since my family doesn't like it hot. I added old bay and a little Cajun seasoning and used frozen peppers and onions for quick fix. It was wonderful and even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
We tried this a couple of nights ago. I made a double batch for four of us and my (adult) kids gobbled it all up! My 18-year-old son even asked for the recipe so he can make it himself. I did substitute the green peppers for some red bell peppers, some jalapenos and red chiles for extra spice and because we dislike green peppers. I added about a tablespoon of brown sugar/Splenda blend to bring out the flavors a little and cut the acidity. I'm diabetic, so I didn't eat it with rice, but we made some white rice for the non-diabetics which was simple enough to transform it into traditional jambalaya. It was deeeelish! We used an enameled cast iron pot on the stove top which worked really well. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parizienne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I love this recipe so much. I make it exactly as described. When I am making it for mixed company I just add some rice and it's perfect. Ty Ty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Byron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Give it a rest Chucky, it is low carb recipe, of course no one in Louisiana would eat it. Great recipe!!! Love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
this was delicious.. i scaled it down to 2 servings and served bf's over rice.. i ate mine straight up.. i forgot to add the olive oil and butter and just used the grease from the sausage (one of those breakfast links) to sautee the onion and garlic in.. didn't have canned crushed tomatoes so used the same amount of grated fresh tomatoes from our little plant.. only had yellow bell pepper so used that.. used old bay for the cajun seasoning and tapatio for the hot sauce.. had some leftover grilled chicken breast from the night before so the dish had a smokey component that we love.. ty for the recipe.. on a side note.. this is LOW CARB so of course it doesn't have rice in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
loved it - i used chorizo sausage and it came out nice and spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I fixed this for the family and they just loved this. I omitted the shrimp and added pork. I left out the sausage but the flavor still great. The jambalaya overall had great body and flavor was all there. I will fix this again but I will add the shrimp and the sausage and leave out the pork. Everything in the recipe was perfect. Definitely no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I've been on a low-carb diet for several months now and getting a little bored with my daily standards. This recipe really spiced things up. We made it as directed and it turned out great. Seems like a really good base to mix up with other ingredients as others have done. I don't really care about the critics that knock the recipe as not being true Jambalaya without rice. Low carb and rice do not mix. I don't care what it is called. It is just darn good. A plus... I finally found something good to do with a zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This recipe was amazing! Highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mandy Patterson
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Absolutely DELICIOUS!!!! So hearty & filling! I followed the recipe except I used red, yellow & orange bell peppers & 2 jalapeños. I added a little extra broth too. Thanks to whoever posted this. I don't miss carbs at all with recipes like this. I also made cilantro-lime rice for my hubby to accompany this dish since he's not eating low-carb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: London, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States