Low Carb Flavored Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I made this last night – my very first attempt at meringue cookies. They turned out well! I only made a half batch since there’s no way I’d eat 4 dozen. I used Splenda and cherry no-sugar gelatin mix. Here are my notes: (1) I didn’t have parchment paper, but I put them on baking stones and they worked just fine. (2) I had a terrible time with piping them onto the stones, but that’s a testament to my own inexperience with piping, I suspect. (3) I made them smaller than the size suggested and it’s a good thing because these are VERY sweet. They actually do taste a little like cotton candy, as advertised. (4) I shortened the baking time since I had smaller cookies, and took them out of the oven without waiting for them to cool because I was out of time to wait for them. They’re a little crackled, but still just fine. These ended up being bright neon pink sweet, crumbly treats. I read that sugar substitutes wouldn’t let the egg proteins get the stiffness that they need for a proper meringue and, since this is my first try, I’m not sure if maybe it should have gotten more stiff than it did. But it seemed to work out well in the end and they taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I added the entire box of geletin with the one cup of splenda. I also added 2 tsp of vanilla. I folded in 1/2 cup of semi sweet chocolate chips at the end. I set the oven at 200 and baked for 3 hours then turned it off and let rest in the oven for another hour....Wow these are delicous! No one would ever know they had spleda in them. Granted the chocolate chips added some cals to it, but 2 - 3 chips per cookie is nothing. I can't wait to make with other jello flavors!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This is the first time I've tried sugar-free meringues, but I really liked them. I'm on a low carb diet and it is difficult to find something sweet and satisfying without giving in and sticking your whole head in a bag of chocolate chips. I used peach flavored sugar-free gelatin and otherwise followed the directions to the letter. The batter is super easy to make (good thing since it takes a while to get results!) and my kids even helped. Just make sure to check on these before the 1.5 hours is up BUT DON'T OPEN THE OVEN DOOR. JUST TURN ON THE LIGHT AND MAKE SURE THEY AREN'T GETTING TOO BROWN! Taste is yummy, as I don't get the aftertaste using the peach gelatin, and I will be making these many more times :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by One Chop Momma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Checotah, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Weight Watchers delight! I also increased the amount of gelatin but kept everything else the same. Pretty, light, airy and sweet. Entire batch is 2 points on WW. Also made a second batch with PB2 (dehydrated peanut butter) instead of gelatin. oh yum. Entire batch 6 points using 4 TBL of PB2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Addicted. These are dangerously delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Awesome recipe if you're looking to satisfy you sweet tooth with virtually no calories. I screwed up my first batch by openeing the oven, but the second batch was perfect. They did have a bit of an aftertaste, so I cut back on the gelatin by a 1/2 tsp. the second time. My lime cookies are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
These are great, but VERY sweet! Because of this, I strongly recommend making them smaller than golf balls (you can always have more than one!). It seems like most of the negative reviews are from people who don't like Splenda (if you hate it and think it has an aftertaste, why make a recipe where it is an essential ingredient?) or people comparing them to traditional meringues made with sugar. I think we would probably all eat regular meringues instead if that was an option! However, for those of us limiting our sugar intake, these are amazing! BEST OF ALL? They're both sugar-free AND low-carb (something you aren't going to find in sugar-free cookies or candies at the grocery store).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I just made these, with a couple of small changes; I didn't have sugar free gelatin mix, so one batch I used instant decafe coffee, then made a second batch - divided in half...one half I added fresh grated tangelo (like an orange) rhind, then the second half of the batch, I used poppy seeds and pure almond extract to replace the gelatin flavoring. The batters were delish, still waiting on them coming out of the oven, I can hardly wait to try them cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Burton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I love this cookie it may just have saved my low carb diet I will lower the amount sweetener for my own taste and I used cherry jello instead of strawberry pretty and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
These cookies have just saved my life! I have been so craving sweet things... I tried it with the white chocolate jello and it was boss. For sure very sweet, but amazing. It reminded me of Angelfood Cake but in cookie form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States