Low Carb Flavored Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This was my first attempt at meringue cookies and I must say it was a lot easier than I thought it would be. The only thing is that I thought the after taste was for some reason on the salty side. Maybe a little less salt next time! ***Update- I made these cookies again and this time left out the salt completely. It did not change the structure of the cookie and eliminated the salty after taste mentioned previously. There still is the artificial sweetener after taste present but I can get past that (especially when I'm craving something sweet and watching my carbs)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Look really cool and great idea in theory - using lots of different colors & flavors, etc. But unfortunately, I did not care for the taste. Kind of like salty cotton candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This is the first time I've tried sugar-free meringues, but I really liked them. I'm on a low carb diet and it is difficult to find something sweet and satisfying without giving in and sticking your whole head in a bag of chocolate chips. I used peach flavored sugar-free gelatin and otherwise followed the directions to the letter. The batter is super easy to make (good thing since it takes a while to get results!) and my kids even helped. Just make sure to check on these before the 1.5 hours is up BUT DON'T OPEN THE OVEN DOOR. JUST TURN ON THE LIGHT AND MAKE SURE THEY AREN'T GETTING TOO BROWN! Taste is yummy, as I don't get the aftertaste using the peach gelatin, and I will be making these many more times :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by One Chop Momma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Checotah, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I made them because I'm trying to watch my diet. I LOATH Splenda or ANY sugar substitute. I have never liked any of the sugar subs, but I tried it anyway. I will just use regualr old-fashioned sugar from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
The texture of these cookies was really great. But I can't believe I'm the only one who couldn't stand the flavor. They tasted like nothing but that awful Splenda aftertaste. I guess if that doesn't bother you, you're in luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Awesome recipe if you're looking to satisfy you sweet tooth with virtually no calories. I screwed up my first batch by openeing the oven, but the second batch was perfect. They did have a bit of an aftertaste, so I cut back on the gelatin by a 1/2 tsp. the second time. My lime cookies are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
they taste great a first, but have a negative after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Addicted. These are dangerously delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
For *sugar free* cookies these are great but I wouldn't make them again unless I needed a sugar free cookie. I notice that two of the reviewers for this cookie made substantial changes to the recipe so that they are rating a different product. I made no modifications to this recipe and I found the cooking time to be a little long. Even in a 250 degree oven they browned a little more than I liked and have a slightly bitter aftertaste a result. I found that the large size (0.60 oz) sugar-free Jello box had more gelatin than I needed for this recipe. I will probably try these again but I will check them before the full 1.5 hours is up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I just made these, with a couple of small changes; I didn't have sugar free gelatin mix, so one batch I used instant decafe coffee, then made a second batch - divided in half...one half I added fresh grated tangelo (like an orange) rhind, then the second half of the batch, I used poppy seeds and pure almond extract to replace the gelatin flavoring. The batters were delish, still waiting on them coming out of the oven, I can hardly wait to try them cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Burton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meringue Bones and Ghosts

See how to make Halloween ghosts and graveyard bones out of meringue.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States