Low Carb Flavored Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I didn't care for the aftertaste of these. Hubby liked them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
WAY too much salt...would have been great without it or even with less salt. Will cut it back to a pinch next time...otherwise, interesting cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Stirnkorb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This was my first attempt at meringue cookies and I must say it was a lot easier than I thought it would be. The only thing is that I thought the after taste was for some reason on the salty side. Maybe a little less salt next time! ***Update- I made these cookies again and this time left out the salt completely. It did not change the structure of the cookie and eliminated the salty after taste mentioned previously. There still is the artificial sweetener after taste present but I can get past that (especially when I'm craving something sweet and watching my carbs)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Look really cool and great idea in theory - using lots of different colors & flavors, etc. But unfortunately, I did not care for the taste. Kind of like salty cotton candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This is the first time I've tried sugar-free meringues, but I really liked them. I'm on a low carb diet and it is difficult to find something sweet and satisfying without giving in and sticking your whole head in a bag of chocolate chips. I used peach flavored sugar-free gelatin and otherwise followed the directions to the letter. The batter is super easy to make (good thing since it takes a while to get results!) and my kids even helped. Just make sure to check on these before the 1.5 hours is up BUT DON'T OPEN THE OVEN DOOR. JUST TURN ON THE LIGHT AND MAKE SURE THEY AREN'T GETTING TOO BROWN! Taste is yummy, as I don't get the aftertaste using the peach gelatin, and I will be making these many more times :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by One Chop Momma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Checotah, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I made them because I'm trying to watch my diet. I LOATH Splenda or ANY sugar substitute. I have never liked any of the sugar subs, but I tried it anyway. I will just use regualr old-fashioned sugar from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
The texture of these cookies was really great. But I can't believe I'm the only one who couldn't stand the flavor. They tasted like nothing but that awful Splenda aftertaste. I guess if that doesn't bother you, you're in luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Awesome recipe if you're looking to satisfy you sweet tooth with virtually no calories. I screwed up my first batch by openeing the oven, but the second batch was perfect. They did have a bit of an aftertaste, so I cut back on the gelatin by a 1/2 tsp. the second time. My lime cookies are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
they taste great a first, but have a negative after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Miloch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Addicted. These are dangerously delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meringue Bones and Ghosts

See how to make Halloween ghosts and graveyard bones out of meringue.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States