Low-Carb Chocolate Swirl Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I made this recently, and it was very good. I did change the crust because the only low carb cookies I could find were peanut butter. I made my crust with ground almonds, unsweetened coconut, cocoa powder, splenda and butter. My only problem was that the chocolate didn't swirl very well, so the top didn't look very good. I fixed it by melting some more chocolate with cream and glazing the top. Then I sprinkled on some more coconut. It was excellent. Very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
The filling is really good...excellent and no hint of "sugar-free" taste. This is like a real NY cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
This is so good. You would never know this what not the full carb deal. I have had this several times, and it is tasty and beautiful. The cookies can be found at Trader Joe's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
I made this cheesecake for my boyfriend's birthday because he is a low-carb freak! He loved it & so did all his friends who aren't into low-carb. He must have eaten 1/2 the cake himself! I had trouble with the chocolate slivers but it was fine without. I couldn't find low-carb flour but it's only 2Tbsp. I liked it too and I'm not a low-carb fan normally!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
This is probably the best low carb dessert I've had. I'm not sure that it's quite as good as some regular cheesecakes that I've had, but it certainly will satisfy a sweet tooth if you're on a low carb diet. I went to Trader Joes, as suggested, but couldn't find the chocolate cookies. They did have an almond chip biscotti (0 carbs) which seemed to work just as well. It was pretty easy to make. I did have a little trouble getting it to swirl. Definitely let this one chill overnight. It seemed to taste better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeatlesFan1964

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
really good I have made it a couple of times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holly, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Wow! Pleasantly surprised. My boyfriend, who is on a low-carb diet, loved it! I found it is easy to swirl the chocolate if you spoon it over the cheesecake in a zigzag pattern. While doing so dip the spoon halfway into the cheese batter. Then take a knife and run a zigzag in the opposite direction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
We changed the flavor of this cheesecale and did not use any cookies in the crust, just extra nuts but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. We flavored the cheesecake with lemon extract, and stirred a small amount of seedless, no sugar added raspberry jam into a 1/2 cup of batter and swirled it through the lemon batter. This is an excellent cheese cake and I will be making it for several occaisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This recipe got so many great reviews that I'm tempted to wonder if I did something wrong.. but I followed the directions EXACTLY and this cheesecake was a total disaster. I didn't overbeat the whites but the texture was extremely "meringue-y," not creamy or smooth at all. It also tasted strongly of egg, and there was a MAJOR diet-sweetener aftertaste. The only good thing about it was the crust; I used 1/2 cup cinnamon almonds as the nuts in the crust and it was good. I won't make this again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States