Low-Carb Chocolate Swirl Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This cheesecake is an excellent "healthy" version of a very unhealthy original. I made this cake the first time trying to cut more calories by using FF cream cheese....BIG mistake. It ended up tasting nothing like cheesecake. Even my boyfriend who loves every creation I come up with didn't like it. The second time I made it I used 2 regular cream cheeses and 1 1/3 less fat cream cheese. Came out awesome! I also used sugar free pecan shortbread and macadamia nuts for the crust, put those in the food processor for a little bit until they were small crumbs. I also added cinnamon to the crust which gave a really nice flavor. Overall great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
it was awsome it tasted just like choclote it was so GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I liked this recipe very much and ate up the whole cheesecake within the week. It kept me feeling full for a long time and my blood sugar stable. The hubby did not care for it that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
great base for endless changes and improvements. I added a little vanilla extract and left out the chocolate swirl. added an extra egg and a pinch of salt. topped with sugar free hotfudge, sugar free carmel and crushed nuts for a wonderful turtle cheesecake. will try many variations on this. cooked up light. also for crust. I used crushed almonds and a few grahm crackers, it was perfect. plus i did cook in a waterbath so it would not crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
i made changes to it, because the low carb option wasn't necessary. make sure to cool the chocolate well after melting it or it will curdle the eggs. the higher the cocoa percentage of chocloate you use the richer flavour it will have...it is a fantastic cheesecake!! if low carb isn't important to you there are many ways to cut corners in this recipe but still maintain its amazing flavour!! email me if you want to know more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYLVIETOROK-NAGY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I wanted a low-carb cheesecake, and chose this recipe because of the reviewers listed on the front page. Some said that there was no hint of a "sugar-free" taste, which I totally have to disagree with. I used Splenda for the recipe, and it still had a very strong, bitter after taste. My husband and I were craving cheesecake (we're both low-carbers), but neither of us could finish our first piece the next day. I put the rest in the freezer to pass along because I hate to waste the whole thing, but we won't be eating it. I guess it is worth mentioning the plain filling did taste better without the chocolate. Maybe it's the real sugar in the dark chocolate that makes the artificially sweetened cheesecake taste so bad?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This recipe got so many great reviews that I'm tempted to wonder if I did something wrong.. but I followed the directions EXACTLY and this cheesecake was a total disaster. I didn't overbeat the whites but the texture was extremely "meringue-y," not creamy or smooth at all. It also tasted strongly of egg, and there was a MAJOR diet-sweetener aftertaste. The only good thing about it was the crust; I used 1/2 cup cinnamon almonds as the nuts in the crust and it was good. I won't make this again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
We changed the flavor of this cheesecale and did not use any cookies in the crust, just extra nuts but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. We flavored the cheesecake with lemon extract, and stirred a small amount of seedless, no sugar added raspberry jam into a 1/2 cup of batter and swirled it through the lemon batter. This is an excellent cheese cake and I will be making it for several occaisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Wow! Pleasantly surprised. My boyfriend, who is on a low-carb diet, loved it! I found it is easy to swirl the chocolate if you spoon it over the cheesecake in a zigzag pattern. While doing so dip the spoon halfway into the cheese batter. Then take a knife and run a zigzag in the opposite direction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
really good I have made it a couple of times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holly, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States