Low-Carb Chocolate Swirl Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I made this recently, and it was very good. I did change the crust because the only low carb cookies I could find were peanut butter. I made my crust with ground almonds, unsweetened coconut, cocoa powder, splenda and butter. My only problem was that the chocolate didn't swirl very well, so the top didn't look very good. I fixed it by melting some more chocolate with cream and glazing the top. Then I sprinkled on some more coconut. It was excellent. Very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
The filling is really good...excellent and no hint of "sugar-free" taste. This is like a real NY cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
This is so good. You would never know this what not the full carb deal. I have had this several times, and it is tasty and beautiful. The cookies can be found at Trader Joe's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This recipe got so many great reviews that I'm tempted to wonder if I did something wrong.. but I followed the directions EXACTLY and this cheesecake was a total disaster. I didn't overbeat the whites but the texture was extremely "meringue-y," not creamy or smooth at all. It also tasted strongly of egg, and there was a MAJOR diet-sweetener aftertaste. The only good thing about it was the crust; I used 1/2 cup cinnamon almonds as the nuts in the crust and it was good. I won't make this again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
great base for endless changes and improvements. I added a little vanilla extract and left out the chocolate swirl. added an extra egg and a pinch of salt. topped with sugar free hotfudge, sugar free carmel and crushed nuts for a wonderful turtle cheesecake. will try many variations on this. cooked up light. also for crust. I used crushed almonds and a few grahm crackers, it was perfect. plus i did cook in a waterbath so it would not crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
This is probably the best low carb dessert I've had. I'm not sure that it's quite as good as some regular cheesecakes that I've had, but it certainly will satisfy a sweet tooth if you're on a low carb diet. I went to Trader Joes, as suggested, but couldn't find the chocolate cookies. They did have an almond chip biscotti (0 carbs) which seemed to work just as well. It was pretty easy to make. I did have a little trouble getting it to swirl. Definitely let this one chill overnight. It seemed to taste better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I wanted a low-carb cheesecake, and chose this recipe because of the reviewers listed on the front page. Some said that there was no hint of a "sugar-free" taste, which I totally have to disagree with. I used Splenda for the recipe, and it still had a very strong, bitter after taste. My husband and I were craving cheesecake (we're both low-carbers), but neither of us could finish our first piece the next day. I put the rest in the freezer to pass along because I hate to waste the whole thing, but we won't be eating it. I guess it is worth mentioning the plain filling did taste better without the chocolate. Maybe it's the real sugar in the dark chocolate that makes the artificially sweetened cheesecake taste so bad?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeatlesFan1964

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
I made this cheesecake for my boyfriend's birthday because he is a low-carb freak! He loved it & so did all his friends who aren't into low-carb. He must have eaten 1/2 the cake himself! I had trouble with the chocolate slivers but it was fine without. I couldn't find low-carb flour but it's only 2Tbsp. I liked it too and I'm not a low-carb fan normally!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
i made changes to it, because the low carb option wasn't necessary. make sure to cool the chocolate well after melting it or it will curdle the eggs. the higher the cocoa percentage of chocloate you use the richer flavour it will have...it is a fantastic cheesecake!! if low carb isn't important to you there are many ways to cut corners in this recipe but still maintain its amazing flavour!! email me if you want to know more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYLVIETOROK-NAGY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States