Low Carb Cauliflower Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I just made this soup for dinner and loved it! I did make some personal tweeks. I added roasted garlic cloves, used only 1/2 a cauliflower (that all I had) and used less broth as others had suggested. I also added navy beans instead of cream. They gave it a thick rich texture and added protein. It tuned out to be a real stick to your ribs soup. Perfect for a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I love this soup and have it for lunch nearly every day. The texture is a bit more thin than a Potato and Leek Soup but that is to be expected in a low carb version and the flavor is outstanding. I now make it with 6 cups of broth instead of 8 but it's great either way. I also wanted to mention that if what you want is potato and leek soup then MAKE potato and leek soup and refrain from giving this recipe a low score because it isn't something that it never claimed to be. It's not rocket science people. Really. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYFAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Matthew F
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This soup is a great light dinner, if it's for 1 or 2 people, there's plenty of leftovers to take to work for lunch! Low-carb, low-calorie, can be low fat depending on your use of heavy cream. I've made this twice, and I've made a few enhancements I think bring more flavor without adding anything unhealthy: -Roast the cauliflower in the oven - set the broiler to 500, break cauliflower into florets and place on baking sheet; spray with cooking spray and place on 2nd rack from the top. Roast until tips have a nice amount of browning (not burning!) and it's soft (doesn't need to be tender - it will finish cooking in the soup). Roasting enhances the final color of the soup as well. -Roast a thickly sliced shallot with the cauliflower, and add to the soup. -Add a yellow (can use sweet) onion to the pot when sauteeing leeks. -Saute some spices with the leeks/onions - I added fresh ground pepper, ground red pepper, and garam masala (an indian spice) for a bit of smokiness. Experiment! This soup BEGS for spices! -Try half&half or lowfat sour cream spooned over each serving. Tastes just as good. -Garnish each bowl with some thinly sliced chives and a thin drizzle of olive oil. In all, a good soup, and my first time working with leeks - but use it as the foundation of introducing some spices or fresh herbs you particularly like - it's a little under-seasoned as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
This recipe was really easy. I didn't have any vegetable broth in the house, so I used chicken stock and it came out great. I also mixed a few teaspoons of cornstarch in with the cream before adding it at the end. It thickened up nicely and had a great consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I only used two ginormous leeks and organic chicken broth because that was what I had on hand. I sauteed two chopped zucchini with the garlic and leeks because I had to use them or lose them. I only pureed the cauliflower and chicken broth which meant I had to cook them seperate in another pot. It didn't take 45 minutes, more like 15. I gave it a taste without the milk and I thought it didn't need it, just a little more spice (onion powder, garlic powder, red pepper flake, rosemary). I threw in about a cup of chopped ham because I had some I needed to use. Really yummy. It totally makes you think you're having potato soup when you aren't. This is going to be a treat for me this week. Thank you for sharing! EDITED: And yes, this soup is even better the next day. It's totally like potato soup. It's fauxtato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Excellent! Normally, I avoid anything marked "low carb" like the plague, but gave this one a shot. Every time I make this, I'm honour bound to bring some in to my staff, as they absolutely LOVE it. If I don't have three leeks, I substitute an onion. I also increased the garlic (well, doubled it, really) because I love garlic. It's fantastic!! Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
What a wonderful soup!! After reading the reviews, I used only 6 cups of stock and found it to be just right. It wasn't bad without the cream, but I crave that velvety goodness of cream soups. Use a dusting of curry powder or not; delicious both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail A. Guild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Fresh, rich and delicious, and I just couldn't get over the velvety smooth texture of this. I did add the optional cream, but only half the amount called for and it seemed just right. I used chicken broth rather than the vegetable broth, again, less than what the recipe directed, about six cups rather than eight. I'm glad I did, as I wouldn't want to "water down" the flavor. Very beautiful, elegant soup, perfect as a starter to our steak dinner, but would be equally as appropriate to accompany a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I made a couple of changes to this recipe, I made extra cauliflower and set aside some of it to add later so that there would be chunks (more satisfying), and we served it with a dollop of sour cream...........delicious! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I used purple cauliflower because that's all I had...weird but okay. Be careful with the salt since the broth most likely has plenty. Next time I'll leave aside some boiled cauliflower and leeks and chop it up and add it in at the end to make the consistency more interesting (I'm not much of a smooth soup person).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States