Low Carb Cauliflower Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Easy to make and very tasty , I made it twice , once as is then again with less leeks and more cauliflower , both ways are good but I prefer less leeks. Really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaZacsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I am on a lowfat/lowcarb diet so I made the following alterations and it was super healthy and DELICIOUS! -no butter -no heavy cream -just enough olive oil to coat bottom of the pan before adding in veggies -added dried oregano & red pepper flakes & 1 extra clove of garlic -used 5 cups (not 8) of low sodium chicken broth instead of veg broth -roasted the cauliflower first in the oven (sprayed it with PAM so it didnt stick to baking sheet. I found that all these changes made the soup thicker, creamier & quite flavorful with a bit of kick. Without the cream, butter & oil it has little to no fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I was looking for a low cal, low carb soup. After cooking, I split the soup into portions so I could blend it in my blender. After half of the soup was blended, I tried it. It turned out pretty yucky and bland (I did not want to add the heavy cream). But I didn't want waste the giant pot of soup and all of my effort, so I added half a can of coconut milk and some green curry spice and a bit of yogurt to make a curry-like soup. To the soup I hadn't blended, I added tomatoes, artichokes and 2 Tbs of pesto and ended up with an Italian veggie soup. This recipe might be a base for a healthy soup, but "doctoring up" is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Followed the recipe as is except that I added a little nutmeg and cornstarch. Needed a little pizzazz and some thickening. It was fabulous - the whole family loved it and the kids asked for it the next two nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I have made this soup so many times since finding this recipe! This is a really great vegetarian soup. I follow it exactly, except I puree about half the vegetables and leave the others. I like the chunks of cauliflower and leeks. I also use half and half instead of cream. At the end, I stir in some yellow curry powder and we top with sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I have made this twice so far and it has turned out wonderful. There are some great additions offered by other reviewers that I used: white wine, curry, and substituting chicken broth for veg broth. I steamed the cauliflower instead of sauteing or roasting. Also, I skipped the heavy cream and only blended half of the soup as I like bits of cauliflower in the puree. The consistency is better if you add extra cauliflower or use a cup or two less broth. Still, a great recipe. Big thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I am so not a cook. But this recipe was so easy - and so good. I even got a call to make it for our family Thanksgiving dinner --- now that is a recommendation!! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRUZZIE
Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Inverness, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
roasted the garlic and cauliflower w MONTREAL STK SEASONING, as i do w all my roasted veg + evoo for 10 mins at 400. used 1/2 large white onion (on hand) and 2 leeks w "fake butter." boiled w 6 cups mixed veg/chkn bullion. tasted after simmering and thought it was yum! continued on w greek yogurt instead of cream and finished product was amazing!!! had a bunch of other spices ready to add but didnt need them. love eating something great that is healthy;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kmeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Delicious! I used 6 cups of the chicken broth I had on hand instead of 8 of veggie broth - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I didn't have vegetable stock, so I used chicken, and only 4 cups which just covered the vegetables. Added whipping cream at the end....Delish! My husband loved it and he hates cauliflower! He didn't know that was one of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States