Low Carb Cauliflower Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I REALLY like this. We didn't use butter, pepper or cream, and we used low sodium chicken broth instead of vegitable broth. We used less broth to make it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I reduced the broth to 4 cups (all I had on hand), increased the leeks (had 5), and used half-and-half instead. My husband saw it cooking and asked me to serve it before blending it smooth. Maybe I'll try roasting the cauliflower next time. Great soup... very elegant. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Very much like potato soup in a low carb version. You should increase spices to taste. I like more garlic, spice blend, more leaks, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This is fast, easy and yummy! I like to top it off with some fresh ground nutmeg. You can float shredded cheese in it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I made this recipe the first time as the recipe states,I tasted it without the cream because I was hoping to get an awessome result without all the fat. the cream totally enhances this soup. the next time I made this soup I just used it as a base, I know this is a whole other recipe but seriously... you should try it adding 1/2 tsp paprika 1 tsp curry and about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes. after I pureed the cauliflower I added frozen zucchini,summer squash and carrot medly. It was sooo good!I think I will puree it all together next time because I really like the cream soup texture. the rating I gave is for the original recipe. I just thought I would mention the changes I made in case someone else was looking to spice it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humboldt, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Fabulous recipe but fat-free half-and-half can be substituted for heavy cream without diminishing flavor but cutting fat and calories. I use this for all cream soups and recipes calling for cream. They can not stock it on the shelves of my grocer!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
We loved this soup. I used half the cream because that is all I had. It was creamy, flavorful, and filling. I added ground dried thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Low carb awesomeness. The best thing about this recipe is you don't have to have exact proportions. I've made it three times now and I've just used whatever proportions of cauliflower, broth, and cream I felt like using. Definitely add your own spices, a lot of them, as the recipe itself is really bland. I used extra garlic, sea salt, black pepper, garlic powder, and lots of crushed red pepper. And to top it all off: add some shredded cheddar and crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HMClements

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This was the first soup I ever made and it is wonderful! Healthy, freezable... great comfort soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This soup is fabulous! I used crushed peppercorn to give it a nice kick and it did. I also added one can of cannellini beans which added protein and a nice thickness so I didn't need to use the heavy cream or anything for that matter to get it to a nice thick, creamy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States