Lover's Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Totally missed the part about it making 2 loafs. So I ended up with one HUGE meatloaf, where one slice equaled two servings. We've been eating this out of the freezer for the last 4 months. The texture was too soft for us. Next time I'll use 75% beef and 25% pork. The taste was ok but nothing special. I have a love/hate relationship with red wine so that may be it. I also use onions, celery and bell peppers in my meatloaf with a splash of Open Pit BBQ sauce. I like the idea of a stuffed meatloaf but I need to tweak this recipe to my family's liking. I'll try it again for the next family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Like the concept but not the ingredients. Bland. If I make again, I'll use pork sausage, plain ham, and seasonings......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lele23
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I thought this recipe was fabulous!!! I used pork sausage instead of ground pork and ham instead of prosciutto. Although, I would've used more cheese OR tried to seal the ends a little better because the cheese oozed out the sides. The flavor was delicious, but I do think I would add minced garlic next time. Also pictured, Baked Mushroom Rice, from allrecipes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Would have given five stars if all the juices didn't dry out and burn up at the bottom of the broiler pan. Next time I'll keep a better eye on it and add water twice while cooking. This recipe is a keeper. Only made minor additions to enhance the flavor: For the pork part, I used hot pork sausage and flavored the meat with my Puerto Rican sofrito, sazon and extra garlic. I didn't have provolone on hand so I used sliced white American cheese (don't cringe, it was yummy) I didn't find the need for flouring the plastic wrap it worked just fine without. I sauteed the spinach with onion slices and garlic. My ridiculously picky 5 year old thought it was great so that's a win in my book! Served with rice pilaf and steamed veggies. Will definitely be making this again and again! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
To me, this was very "thick" and salty tasting. The ham layered into it, plus the sausage made it soo salty, it was hard to eat. I would have added rice to it next time so the texture wasnt like a board. The presentation was amazing, but its not about that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I am on the fence with this recipe. I do not know why any oil was added to the outside of the meatloaf. It made my meatloaf dry and hard on the outside. I did add some minced garlic and onion flakes and basil for flavor, but I think something was missing. Made meatballs with the remainder instead of another loaf. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was pretty good. I had to add more seasonings, and it was a bit tricky to roll, but once I figured it out it was smooth sailing. I like how pretty it looks, and this doesn't make too much, so it's a good dish for a couple of people. Thanks for the recipe1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Love this loaf! I wanted to make a special dinner for my boyfriend and this was perfect. Easy, full of flavor, and it looks very impressive. Served with wild rice, a nice salad, and Malbec to drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This is one of my nine year old favorite dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
good make again, but change the cheese, too strong overpowers the other flavours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Roasted Pork Loin

See how to make a succulent, fragrant pork roast with garlic and rosemary.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States