Lovely Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Great dish, no reason to change anything. I've been a fire house cook for 24 years. This is an excellent dish. If people change ingredients then create your own recipe and post. And for Naples comment, there is nothing wrong with adding olive oil to your boiling noodles when the dish is oil based with olive oil or butter. Your misconception comes from pasta dishes where you don't want oil in the noodle water as it causes the sauce to repel from the noodle on the plate. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apfire8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brandon, Florida, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Very nice, and very easy. I didn't put oil in the pasta water--instead, I used olive oil in the pan to cook the garlic, then added about 1/3 of the butter and the rest of the ingredients. I'm not exactly sure I understood the amount of the red pepper--I have a huge jar of red peppers from Costco, and there were only three in there. Perhaps they are big; I don't know, but I used two for about half the pasta, which resulted in a lot of roasted red pepper. I suppose that worked just fine, as it was pretty good! I also put the linguine (I used spaghetti) in with the sauce, mixed it in, then served from there. Very nice with salad and texas toast. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I loved this recipe. It was extremely quick and easy to make. I substituted minced garlic and dried thyme for the fresh garlic and thyme. I added a little more peppers, and a little bit of other seasonings as well. Served it with some garlic bread. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Ohhh, don't ever cook pasta with oil in the water! That is my only criticism of this recipe. In fact, it really IS lovely linguine. While the pasta was cooking I heated the olive oil, butter and garlic, just eyeballing everything rather than precisely measuring. Rather than serving it OVER the pasta I just tossed everything altogether. Simply a beautiful as well as delicious side dish pasta. I served this with "Creamy Mustard and Tarragon Chicken," recipe also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
making this tonight with grilled salmon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
Quick and easy. Great little side dish. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
Very Good surprisingly since it is so simple. I used dried spice instead of fresh and added chicken. I put it over bow tie pasta. It was great! I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I loved the red pepper. It gave the pasta a unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Five stars isn't enough for this great recipe! Thank you Marikabar for posting it. I made this gluten free with brown rice spaghetti noodles and it is so good my gluten eating husband declared his 37 year favorite pot roast meal has been replaced. It is very similar to a garlic spaghetti we used to get at a small family Italian restaurant years ago. I made a few changes to accommodate my pantry and being gluten free. First I halved the recipe which makes enough for 2 people to eat to just short of gluttony. I've found it isn't necessary or even desirable to cook gluten free noodles in oily water so I used the olive oil in the garlic/red pepper mix along with the butter. I used 1 teaspoon of dried thyme along with 1/2 teaspoon of dried basil with the garlic for my seasoning. I served this as a side dish with grilled pork loin chops and Italian flatbread and fresh cherry tomatoes. I should also admit to making it twice in four days! It's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This was the best, my family devoured it. And asked when can you make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Creamy Chicken on Linguine

Tender chicken served over pasta with a sumptuous, creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States