Lovely Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Excellent basic simple recipe to adapt to your style. Fast and easy....I cut back on the butter, added hot pepper flakes to the butter and garlic at the beginning, then added alot of parm/romano cheese. Adding the cheese made it more of a sauce. Very good flavors with the extra garlic and pepper flakes....without them it probably would need some help. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This was really delicious and different. I cooked the garlic and warmed the peppers in the pot that I cooked the linguine in to avoid using another pot. Then I put the drained linguine back into the pot with the other ingredients. Added some grated parmesan on top and it was wonderful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Ohhh, don't ever cook pasta with oil in the water! That is my only criticism of this recipe. In fact, it really IS lovely linguine. While the pasta was cooking I heated the olive oil, butter and garlic, just eyeballing everything rather than precisely measuring. Rather than serving it OVER the pasta I just tossed everything altogether. Simply a beautiful as well as delicious side dish pasta. I served this with "Creamy Mustard and Tarragon Chicken," recipe also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Five stars isn't enough for this great recipe! Thank you Marikabar for posting it. I made this gluten free with brown rice spaghetti noodles and it is so good my gluten eating husband declared his 37 year favorite pot roast meal has been replaced. It is very similar to a garlic spaghetti we used to get at a small family Italian restaurant years ago. I made a few changes to accommodate my pantry and being gluten free. First I halved the recipe which makes enough for 2 people to eat to just short of gluttony. I've found it isn't necessary or even desirable to cook gluten free noodles in oily water so I used the olive oil in the garlic/red pepper mix along with the butter. I used 1 teaspoon of dried thyme along with 1/2 teaspoon of dried basil with the garlic for my seasoning. I served this as a side dish with grilled pork loin chops and Italian flatbread and fresh cherry tomatoes. I should also admit to making it twice in four days! It's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Took others advice and reduced the amount of butter to 1/2 cup. Very good and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Derwood, Maryland, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
easy and yummy. i added a little wine to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Really good, but very buttery. I will try to reduce the amount of butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Timmerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I loved this recipe. It was extremely quick and easy to make. I substituted minced garlic and dried thyme for the fresh garlic and thyme. I added a little more peppers, and a little bit of other seasonings as well. Served it with some garlic bread. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Delicious meal, very light. I didn't have thyme, so I used basil and oregano as a substitute, which seemed to work. I also added Parmesan cheese on top, which complimented the dish well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salsera713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallandale, Florida, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I loved the red pepper. It gave the pasta a unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Creamy Chicken on Linguine

Tender chicken served over pasta with a sumptuous, creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States