Love the Mama Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Recipe is great for having guest over.!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
The crust is a very good shortbread but mine got too brown and hard on the edges even though I reduced the baking time to 20 min. without and 20 min. with filling. The filling seemed sparse in such a large pan, but even a thin layer was very intense and tasty. I used a home grown tree ripened lemon-great taste. I will make this again in a slightly smaller pan with shorter baking times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Made many lemon bars but this one is very good with the confectioners sugar - it does not need flour which we likedl. Used a slightly smaller pan that way there is a thicker layer of filling.; Please leave this recipe as it because it is written exactly the way the contributor wanted it to be made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I thought the flavor was perfect! The crust has a ligh crunch to it. The lemon filling has the right balance of sweet and sour. I baked the bars in a 9x13 and doubled the crust ingredients and doubled the filling ingredients. I am going to bake these in 8x8 silicone pans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
As my spouse said upon eating one, "You couldn't ask for more from a lemon bar." Delicious and generally perfect! Tweaks: I used a 9x9 pan, which was the perfect size for this recipe, and I baked the lemon part only 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I did not care for these. They were really tart and paper thin, I used a 13x9 pan though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemmonsgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is my favorite lemon bar recipe. All the other recipes pale compared to this one. Even though I've been baking for about 25 years, I've never heard of an 11x7 inch pan, so I whipped out my bad fourth grade math skills to resize the recipe for your standard 9x13 inch pan. Preheat to 325. Cut 3/4 cup of butter into your 9x13 and stick it in the oven for a minute or two to soften it and grease the pan at the same time automatically. Then add 1 3/4 c flour and 1/2 c sugar directly into the pan. Stir. Use one of the leftover butter papers to pat it down. Bake for 18 minutes. Meanwhile, beat 3 eggs gently. Stir in 1 3/4 c sugar. Take your prettiest lemon and for God's sake use a real zester. Don't bother trying to get a grater to do the job of a zester. And don't bother measuring the zest. Just use a big lemon's worth of zest and it will taste good. Then cut the lemon in half, and holding the cut end up so that the seeds don't fall in, gouge out the juice. I use a wooden thing. Repeat with the other half. Like the author says, wait until you're ready to pour the filling over the crust before adding 1/3 teaspoon of the baking powder. I know you don't have a 1/3 teaspoon. You just have to guess. Call it a scant 1/2 teaspoon if it makes it easier. Mix. Pour. Bake it for 20 minutes. And despite the temptation to immediately eat all of the lemon bars, do yourself a favor and wait until tomorrow. It will taste about 500 times better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
These bars were really good. I did double the crust and the filling to make the pan full because I have a big family. They only lasted for two meals anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlf8814

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is amazing and very simple!! Tee Hee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Beautiful lemon flavor! I would definately prefer them over the kind in a box. They are a lot more work than the box lemon bars, but very worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States