Love the Mama Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CHARLIEBUG
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
I wrote this recipe...Use a 11" X 7" Pan. It will NOT come out right with a bread pan. Sorry for the confusion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
I thought this was one of the best lemon bar recipes I've tried. I loved the crust! I only needed to cook the lemon part for 20 minutes instead of 25. These were GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
these were a huge hit! i used parchment paper to line my baking pan, and that made cutting a snap....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Many of the four or five star ratings for this recipe are only after the reviewer made significant changes. A perfect recipe should be spot on accurate and not need doctoring with amounts of ingredients, the ingredients themselves, pan sizes or baking times. While I agree with a lot of the changes made, they are no longer reviewing THIS recipe. As this recipe stands it is, first, too short on filling for this size pan. Most lemon bar recipes, however, do call for a two egg filling for an 8x8 pan, or a four egg filling for a 9x13 pan. This recipe also calls for powdered sugar in the filling, which I've never seen. I don't think it would be enough given the amount of lemon juice called for. So as written, I believe this recipe has some problems and only merits three stars. I made this in a 9x9 pan, although an 11x7 is fine too. I made the crust as written but made a couple of changes on the filling. I made 1-1/2 times the filling recipe and used regular, granulated sugar instead of the confectioners' sugar called for. I baked the crust 15 minutes at 350 degrees, and then another 15-20 minutes once the filling was added. The tartness and sweetness were just right and there was a better balance of crust to filling. I did observe, however, that I much prefer lemon bar recipes that call for a little flour in the filling as opposed to baking powder. All and all, a nice altered version of this recipe, but I'd much prefer a recipe that required no revision.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
You need to double the lemon filling part though! YUUUUUMMMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELSTEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I'm normally not a fan of lemon bars, but these were really good! My mother said this was one of the best desserts she'd ever eaten. The filling had just the right amount of "chewy gooey-ness". It tastes like it has sweetened condensed milk in it, and I was really surprised to learn that it didn't. I'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniJ3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I couldn't decide between making this recipe or "The Best Lemon Bars" so I made both yesterday. Friends and family adored and gobbled up "The Best Lemon Bars" and this batch went virtually untouched.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
Light flaky shortbread type crust bottom. It perfectly balances the tart flavor of the lemon filling on top! It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Really tasty! I doubled the recipe thinking I would make two batches, but ended up using all most of the crust and all of the filling for one. Next time I will probably only double the filling and put it in a 11x9 pan. It needs a little more confectioner's sugar as it was a little to tart for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This recipe is a great standard. For all the people who have been critical, I find it unwarranted. Obviously, the pan suggested will produce a thin bar (as pictured). A smaller pan will yield thicker bars. It is absolutely perfect for coffee/tea as the recipe states--if you want a dessert, make them thicker and therefor more substantial. I find it unfair to rate this recipe poorly, it is very good, and the results turn out exactly like the photo and as stated in the author's description. Excellent recipe that turns out exactly as described by the author!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States