Love the Mama Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Outstanding bars. I loved the lemon and had a bundle from my meyer lemon tree. I am making a double, double batch for a bake sale for work. I pre-tested these with 8 people who loved them. I double the recipe & used a 13x9 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Yummy! The shortbread crust was just what I was looking for and the balance of sweet and tart is just right. I did do as previously suggested and doubled the filling and increased the baking time by 5 - 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Margarita, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
In general I don't care for lemon bars because they're too sweet. These bars are the other extreme -- too tart. I gave 3 stars because the other folks raved over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Good recipe just in time for Easter, nice pastal color and cool lemon taste. I did as others sugested and doubled the recipe you get a nice thick crust and more lemon topping! thanks for the post, now just have to tell myself no, one is enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
The lemon filling was excellent! I loved it. The crust had a real good flavor, but was VERY crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caryl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Ok. Guess I messed this one up. To me, the bars tasted like a big pile of flour...maybe I didn't back the first part long enough (It was browned, though). I also thought it needed more "goo" aka lemon mixture. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This was good, but not great. Some reviewers said too lemony, some said not enough, so I made it as-is. It was not terribly lemony, I would like it more lemony, but that's my taste. Also, some reviewers said there wasn't enough lemon topping - I agree. I would double that next time. But they were good and everyone I shared them with liked them, I had just hoped for something a little more tart and with at least as much lemon stuff on top as crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemaytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
After reading the reviews that said that crust and/or filling should be doubled, I actually made the recipe as suggested, but put it in a 9x9 pan. Worked out fine, though I'll definitely double the filling next time for more gooey lemon. FYI, it is a very custardy looking bar, but tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, but doubled the lemon top and found the crust's taste to be bland and lost in the filling. The lemon was more gel-like rather than creamy like I was looking for. It did have good lemony flavor though. I probably will look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by three-peas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This recipe was yum! I have a Meyers lemon tree in my backyard and needed something to make with them. I doubled the lemon juice and the powdered sugar in the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 177arie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States