Love Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
This recipe makes a pretty gift, and tastes great too! However, 18 cubes of bouillon is WAY too much. 9 or 10 is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2000
I made 12 of these for teacher gifts at Thanksgiving time. They are truly beautiful and are very much appreciated by those that receive them...one teacher's husband loved the soup so much I forwarded the recipe to her. My suggestion is to purchase ingredients in bulk at a BJ's or Sam's warehouse. I found the boullion and onion flakes to be very reasonably priced and I didn't have to make several trips to the grocery store. Also, I've found that Mason jars are "seasonal" items and you may not find them in the dead of winter...I located them at a 'grain & feed' store which stocks them year 'round. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
This makes the prettiest presentation in a jar! I gave this as gifts this year. I split the lentils in half and used half green lentils and half red lentils. It was beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
This is great! Instead of using quart size jars I bought 24 pint size jars, cut the recipe in half and followed the recipe. I then made 24 really fancy tags and attached them with a beautiful ribbon. I am giving these as party favors at a bridal shower I am throwing in a couple of weeks. Everyone who sees them just falls in love with them. I may have an easy inexpensive gift for next Christmas!! O and by the way I bought all the ingredients at a Bulk shopping center and it ended up costing me only .85 each!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRAZYKEL028

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Looks really good with my modifications in my recipe note: as follows: watch out for msg--oh, well, couldn't find anything msg-free... I'm trying 250ml jars (very cute) with 4 servings of dry soup mix in each... omit ground beef instructions and put all pasta in top baggie to be set aside until soup almost done. simmer 45, add pasta, simmer another 10. nummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
I found this soup to taste way too salty. Maybe if the amount of boullion cubes was cut be about half (maybe 9 to 12) since you do use 12 cups of water, depending on your own personal preference for salt. I haven't tried it yet with less boullion, but there is potential there for a great hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This is a great, easy recipe. I gave it to family and friends for the holidays. I made it first to try and it was great... it made a lot!! I didn't add meat. I also left out the macaroni, and only added the tri-color pasta at the end. It was easy and fun to put the jars together (I put the pasta in colored saran-wrap), and so far, everyone has said they loved it! My brother said he added in a jar of canned tomatoes, which he said was great. I have a couple left still from the holidays, which I plan to use myself. Great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This will be a part of our gift giving again this Christmas. I customised it for my husband's men's bible study partners last year and remained it Brotherly Love soup. It made a great gift. Try processing dried tomatos with the seasoning in a food processor. The resulting seasoning mix can be pressed into a circular cake and used as a layer in the jar. This year I plan to further modify the seasoning mix to include freeze-dried refried beans and "tex/mex-ify" the herb blend. I'll add dehydrated corn and black beans to the dried lentils etc. My hope is to turn out a southwest chili-style version and rename the outcome Sopa Agape Noche Buena (Holy night brotherly love soup) or something like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phishgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaftsburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Idaho City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
THIS WAS ONE OF THE BEST CHRISTMAS GIFTS I GAVE THIS EVERY ONE WANTS TO KNOW HOW TO MAKE IT THANKS SO MUCH FOR A GREAT IDEA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
Very good flavor and very very harty. Next time I would probably use 14 cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States