Love Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I've tried it both with ground beef and cubed chicken breast. Of the two, I think I like the chicken breast better. Easy to cook up, makes a large batch! Other comments (above) sound like it was too salty, but if they use granules instead of boullion cubes, I think it would be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
So far so good ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Awesome I made with ground turkey and bag of frozen Mexican corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I received a jar of this as a gift. When I made it, I substituted Chicken Broth for the 12 cups of water. This seemed to be a no-brainer for me. I didn't have the problem that many did with the pasta not being cooked. Mine all cooked nicely. The rice sort of fell apart though, so if I were going to make this for gifts, I would likely skip the rice and put extra peas, lentils, and/or barley. I also thought about adding a can of petite diced tomatoes, but didn't this time. I might try that when I'm eating leftovers though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I really loved this soup! I found that this soup is very tasty with just the right balance of spices and beans. This was a gift to me. Typically, I am not one to enjoy beans too much so I didn't think I'd like this soup. Boy was I surprised! I served this at a ladies tea I had in March, 2012...it was a huge hit! Try it, you'll like it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Great and appetizing soup. Thanks for sharing and I'll be endorsing it to one of my friends through heartbeat.gourmetrecipe.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This is a great recipe!! I bought the mix from a Girl Scout troop. Made it tonight for dinner along with grilled cheese sandwiches. Everyone that ate it thought it was a keeper. Will definitely make it again. Would make an ideal gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Setauket, New York, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This is a very hearty tasty soup. Makes a great gift people can eat or use as a decoration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This is a great looking gift. I am glad I decided to make it and try it before actually giving it to others as gifts. I found it to be very salty, and I assume that was from the bouillon, and I found the macaroni was over cooked. So, when I put them together in the jar I reduced the bouillon to 1/4 cup and put both kinds of pasta into a plastic bag on top and then closed the jar. That way it is easier to remove the pasta from the jar to add towards the end of the cooking time. I agree with the other reviewer, more water is needed than the 12 cups it calls for, so I will change that on the instructions to 13 cups (and add more if needed). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Love Soup Mix in a Jar Haiku: "Tough to rate this soup. The jar's great for gift-giving. Directions are flawed." OK, so the dry mix in the jar is lovely, although I found that, in the order written, the barley "leaks" too much into the macaroni layer, so instead my order went: bouillon - onion (+ 1 tsp. dried minced garlic) - barley - split peas (+ 2 tsp. Italian seasoning) - macaroni - lentils - rice - spiral pasta. I made a batch of the soup exactly as the recipe instructed (I wanted to ensure that everything turned out tasty b4 giving the jars as gifts) - and at time to serve, the split peas were still pebbles, and the spirals were inedible. In order to have both of those tender, I had to let the soup simmer an additional 30 min. but that resulted in the macaroni being smooshy. So, I believe that I will write the instruction card to say that the initial 45 min. simmer should be partially-covered (* test split peas for tenderness!), and after adding the spiral pasta and removing the lid, it should be simmered for 20-25 min. Oh and the soup itself is not attractive at all, and the leftovers become thick and gummy, BUT it's hearty and pretty darn tasty! (P.S. I added photos of both the jar, and the finished soup.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States