Love Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I enjoyed making and giving this soup mix. It makes a great, coloful gift and from what I hear, it tastes pretty good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
While I have yet to taste this soup, it turned out really well in the jar. It's going to make a great gift. It was fun to make, easy to follow the directions, and LOOKS AWSOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
This was AWESOME!!! It tasted just right. It will make great presents!Defanatly A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
This is great! Instead of using quart size jars I bought 24 pint size jars, cut the recipe in half and followed the recipe. I then made 24 really fancy tags and attached them with a beautiful ribbon. I am giving these as party favors at a bridal shower I am throwing in a couple of weeks. Everyone who sees them just falls in love with them. I may have an easy inexpensive gift for next Christmas!! O and by the way I bought all the ingredients at a Bulk shopping center and it ended up costing me only .85 each!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRAZYKEL028

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
This was a very easy project for Christmas gifts. I had one left over and made it for dinner. It made the kitchen smell wonderful, but it was somewhat flat in taste. I would add some beef broth and seasoning salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
This was YUMMY! I made it with a bit of lean ground beef. I found 4 T of beef bouillon to be just right with 12 cups of water. I also added 1 T of salt-free garlic herb seasoning. I plan to make it to give as gifts. In order to make it a bit cheaper for my budget, I plan to package it in cellophane gift bags and reduce the amount of the ingredients slightly. The soup was pretty thick, so that should be fine. I was worried about the "twist macaroni" and skipped that in favor of Adzuki beans. They added a nice red color since I couldn't find red lentils. I used a lesser amount because they are expensive. I can't wait to give these as gifts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This soup is so good and makes you feel like a great chef even if it's your first batch of soup! It works well with ground beef or with another cut of meat. The only problem I had was after it cooled, the rice, barley, and pasta kept absorbing the liquid! It made one big lump of soup! Kind of more like a gravy or a stew. So when i went to reheat it, I had to add more water--it was good the 2nd time too but just not as "pretty" as the first time! LOL Definitely good flavor though!! And a pretty mix of ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
This makes the prettiest presentation in a jar! I gave this as gifts this year. I split the lentils in half and used half green lentils and half red lentils. It was beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
I found this recipe to be quite flat - it needs some definition - I will definitely not make this again without serious modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAEBRALOP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
Very good flavor and very very harty. Next time I would probably use 14 cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States