Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
This was soooo great. My mom grew some really giant sweet potatos and I didn't know what to do with them all. This recipe was wonderful! I even made them, placed them on a cookie sheet and froze them, then put them in ziploc bags, sonow when we want one or two (or for dinner) they are already made, I just have to nuke them for a moment or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
This was awesome! Add chopped pecans to the batter or sprinkle them on top for a real Louisiana flavor. We froze half the batter for later use, and it was even tastier than the first day. I think the key is to let it sit for a while to really bring out the taste of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
I was tired of squash and bought a big yam and used this recipe. Normally, potato pancakes are my "thing" but I tried this recipe anyway. WOW. If yams are in season, this is my new recipe. I did everything according to the directions, but did cut back on the nutmeg by about 10%. Extreemly good. You'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
These were pretty good pancakes. Very hearty. My 2 year old loved them. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
This is my new favorite pancake recipe. They were very light. I used half a can of sweet potatoes in syrup drained and cinnamon, and they were just great!!! Even my three year old who doesn't eat anything if he thinks it contains a fruit or vegetable said they were "delicious!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I cheated a bit on this recipe and used leftover sweet potatoes that I had already made up from the previous night's sweet potato side dish from dinner. They still turned out nicely! I wrecked the first few by making them too large. Follow the recipe when it says, "spoon heaping tablespoonsfuls onto the heated griddle"!! A yummy way to use up leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
I made this with canned sweet potatoes in syrup. I also added ginger and cinnamon to the batter. I used self rising flour and omitted the salt and levening. These turned out excellent! I am going to try it with canned pumpkin next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
What can I say! Last night I made Bea's Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole that I found on this site, so my sweet potatoes had brown sugar, orange juice, cinnamon, nuts, and a few marshmallows in them. (It was a good casserole) Well, I found this recipe and decided to make the pancakes to eat later... Anyhow, my 2 yr old and 5 yr old were watching me... we started snacking... then moved on to make it an early lunch. I stopped my 2 yr old at 5 pancakes and my 3 yr old at 3 pancakes! The recipe made 25, so I guess my size was right on. They were awesome! The kids ate them plain, I added butter and syrup. I HIGHLY recommend these. Thanks, Wendy, for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Best pancakes I have ever had. I occasionally serve them for dinner with fresh cranberry sauce or for breakfast with sausage. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Adamstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
This was a good recipe. They do taste very good along with the cranberry sauce--good idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States