Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
This was soooo great. My mom grew some really giant sweet potatos and I didn't know what to do with them all. This recipe was wonderful! I even made them, placed them on a cookie sheet and froze them, then put them in ziploc bags, sonow when we want one or two (or for dinner) they are already made, I just have to nuke them for a moment or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
This was awesome! Add chopped pecans to the batter or sprinkle them on top for a real Louisiana flavor. We froze half the batter for later use, and it was even tastier than the first day. I think the key is to let it sit for a while to really bring out the taste of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
I was tired of squash and bought a big yam and used this recipe. Normally, potato pancakes are my "thing" but I tried this recipe anyway. WOW. If yams are in season, this is my new recipe. I did everything according to the directions, but did cut back on the nutmeg by about 10%. Extreemly good. You'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
These were pretty good pancakes. Very hearty. My 2 year old loved them. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
This is my new favorite pancake recipe. They were very light. I used half a can of sweet potatoes in syrup drained and cinnamon, and they were just great!!! Even my three year old who doesn't eat anything if he thinks it contains a fruit or vegetable said they were "delicious!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I cheated a bit on this recipe and used leftover sweet potatoes that I had already made up from the previous night's sweet potato side dish from dinner. They still turned out nicely! I wrecked the first few by making them too large. Follow the recipe when it says, "spoon heaping tablespoonsfuls onto the heated griddle"!! A yummy way to use up leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
I made this with canned sweet potatoes in syrup. I also added ginger and cinnamon to the batter. I used self rising flour and omitted the salt and levening. These turned out excellent! I am going to try it with canned pumpkin next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
What can I say! Last night I made Bea's Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole that I found on this site, so my sweet potatoes had brown sugar, orange juice, cinnamon, nuts, and a few marshmallows in them. (It was a good casserole) Well, I found this recipe and decided to make the pancakes to eat later... Anyhow, my 2 yr old and 5 yr old were watching me... we started snacking... then moved on to make it an early lunch. I stopped my 2 yr old at 5 pancakes and my 3 yr old at 3 pancakes! The recipe made 25, so I guess my size was right on. They were awesome! The kids ate them plain, I added butter and syrup. I HIGHLY recommend these. Thanks, Wendy, for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Best pancakes I have ever had. I occasionally serve them for dinner with fresh cranberry sauce or for breakfast with sausage. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Adamstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
This was a good recipe. They do taste very good along with the cranberry sauce--good idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins

Enjoy these tasty muffins for a healthy, hearty breakfast treat.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States