Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This is one of our favorite kid-friendly dinners. We found using all whole wheat flour still tastes just as good. Guests can't believe how good these taste with no added sugar and no white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
YUM! Cut nutmeg in half bc I don't like it as much, added cinnamon and a couple tbsp sugar, as recommended by others. Left the batter in the fridge over night (def tasted better the next day). Before cooking, added milk to thin it out until it was spreadable, prob 1/2 a cup more. The batter tasted salty, but the pancakes did not. So don't dismiss salty batter! Cooked smallish, thin pancakes on low heat, didn't have any burning or mush issues, but they do take some time. Also - left little lumps of sweet potato (not well mashed) and I was glad I did, it added a nice texture! Served with Blueberry Breakfast Sauce from this site. Next time we'll eat them with cream cheese and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
They were just OK. My main problem with these is that although they were well browned on the outside, the inside was soggy. Maybe you have to make them real small. The other thing is you really don't taste the sweet potato too much. It's a shame because I thought these would be tastier and healthier than regular pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I was so excited to find this recipe. Other than peeling and cutting the sweet potatoes before boiling them, I followed the recipe as written. I loved the texture and flavor (I thought about adding cinnamon, but in the end, I'm glad I didn't; I think it would have covered the sweet potato too much). I cooked the entire batch and froze the leftovers to enjoy as a quick breakfast on weekday mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNOUSCHE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Followed recipe to a T and they were delicious!! I added a little cinnamon the second time I made them and they were also delicious. This will be a regular recipe on our lazy Sunday mornings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Used white sweet potatoes and subbed spelt for the flour, earth balance for the butter. Very moist and not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
With cinnamon it's perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I added 1/4 cup of brown sugar and little more nutmeg because I am crazy about them. I forget to add butter melting but it still taste so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Pretty good. They don't take long to cook once the mix is made. They seem firmer and easier to flip than a traditional pancake. Nice change of pace for a pancake. Will repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
anything my picky 4 yr old will eat gets 5 stars. I had pureed sweet potatoe in the freezer, which I'm not sure how much, about a cup, I cut the recipe in half and added vanilla and apple pie spice since I had no nutmeg. These were super moist and so yummy! I will make these again, maybe trying pumpkin next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States