Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I also microwaved the sweet potatoes, added 1 teaspoon cinnamon instead of nutmeg, and 2 teaspoons of vanilla. Everyone raved. I served them with a Pecan Praline Syrup. Everyone loved them and had several requests for the recipe. My sons even requested them for Christmas breakfast this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
These were great! I wouldn't do the boiling thing again tho. I just throw them in the microwave. It's alot easier. Plus I used cinnamon too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I made these for dessert, and the leftovers I had for breakfast. Wonderful with butter and a cinnamon-sugar mixture sprinkled on top. You could use this recipe with squash, pumpkin, or carrots, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy K

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
These were very dense and filling. I added a little vanilla and brown sugar. I think next time I'll use yams (for the orange color) and add chopped pecans or walnuts. We didn't have maple syrup, so my boyfriend put a little whipped cream cheese and rasberry jam on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
What a great idea!! I can't believe I haven't made these before! I made a few alterations and probably will again the next time I make them. I used sweet potato puree from Trader Joe's (saved a TON of time) and used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup of regular. The batter was very thick and didn't "lay" on the hot pan so I increased the milk to at least 2 cups if I wanted any movement on the pan. I also subbed in cinnamon for the nutmeg and added about 2 tsp vanilla (yum!). I also cut the salt in half (I can always taste it in pancakes). But one word of advice: note that the finished pancakes are EXTREMELY moist due to the milk and s/p. So I ended up burning several of mine thinking they weren't done yet :P They were, but the pancake does not develop the firmness of a traditional pancake. When done, it even "gives" when you press on it. And it will not "bubble" nearly as much as a regular pancake, too, so check it sooner than later to flip. Since there is no sugar in the batter, you have a bit more freedom to have fun with the toppings. But I just topped it with some organic whole milk french vanilla yogurt. My kids loved it! It looked like icing! :) I may put in a 1/4 cup sugar next time and just top with butter (they are super tasty and don't need much!). But overall, I will definitely be making these again...way healthier than regular pancakes and a fun treat for the fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I used three smallish sweet potatoes and that seemed to be about right. I followed the recipe exactly and tast tested. After that I added almost 1/3 cup sugar, couple dashes cinnamon and some chocolate chips to the batter. My kids loved them. Oddly enough, they tasted a bit like french toast. Very good and a little healthier than regular pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
What a GREAT use of potatoes. I used yams instead of sweet potatoes (because that's what I had). My children are DEMANDING "more pancakes mommy!" I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
These pancakes were great. Even good without any syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
These were great start. I made a few modifications, by adding flax seed to the mix. They have become our standard breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muscle Shoals, Alabama, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessica777
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
i made these with sweet potatos from my garden! i 1cup of unbleached flour, 1/2 almond meal, low fat organic milk. i also added cinnamin and vanilla. delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States