Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Recipe looks great but... Wondering if anyone knows how to make this gluten free? I'm new to gluten free cooking and don't know which GF flours to substitute. Also, am unable to tolerate soy, potato and tapioca (cassava)flours/starches. Would appreciate any suggestions. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Delicious and filling - great for a weekend breakfast, especially if your plans for the day involve a nap! My only issue is the timing - after 20 minutes in boiling water, my sweet potatoes still hadn't cooked all the way through enough to be mash-able. I wound up having to finish the cut up chunks in the microwave and then "mash" them with my immersion blender. But the flavor was great, so adjust the cooking time and try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Pretty good! it's a nice change once in a while from regular pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Realy really good recipe ... made them with left over baked sweet potatoes - other than that followed recipe exactly!!! Sprinkled with cinnamon sugar and maple syrup OMG! Enough said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This is the second time making these and I'm still in love, I added a bit of heavy cream to mine to make the batter a little more rich and smooth. This is the perfect addition to a steak and eggs breakfast. I don't think I'll ever go back to regular pancakes, again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Tasty....but soggy! Maybe I'm not doing something right, but these were very gooey in the middle no matter how long I cooked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaCate's personal chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Very, very wet pancakes...could be because I sift my flour, but I ended up adding more than the recipe called for, and the pancakes were still gooey in the center of many of them. Could be because I also oven-cooked my sweet potatoes and not in the microwave, so they had more moisture?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Amazing as a waffle recipe too! Try it with cinnamon honey butter. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
New favorite! I substituted 1 cup while wheat flour and 1/2 cup rolled oats. They never did fully cook in the middle but they didn't taste raw. I didn't mind it at all. I also baked the sweet potatoes instead of boiling. Top it with creme fraichethat has a bit of maple syrup and cinnamon mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
YUM! First I used a non-stick pan with oil. They really stuck to the pan. So switched to a Revere Ware pan and used spray oil. And flattened the pancakes a bit. This worked like a charm. They were so good! Will definitely make these again. Thanks for such a great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States