Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
These pancakes weren't as fluffy as I normally like (hence the 4-star rating instead of 5), but my picky 2-year-old loved them, so I'll definitely be making them again! I do recommend adding a little more spice--maybe a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice (or blend of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, etc.) for a half recipe. I did use a jar of sweet potato baby food that my son outgrew before eating. This worked for a half recipe, but fresh potatoes would probably give a more intense flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I made this recipe for dinner tonight mostly to use up some leftover baked sweet potatoes. The pancakes were wonderful! I misread the recipe and thought it called for 3/4 CUP of mashed sweet potatoes instead of 3/4 lb. So that's what I was planning to use, but didn't have enough sweet potatoes leftover to fill 3/4 cup. I added a little chunky homemade applesauce to round out the 3/4 cup and it worked perfectly. I also added cinnamon mostly because my toddler loves cinnamon and she was skeptical of sweet potatoes in her pancakes. She nearly ate as many as me! I loved that there was no added sugar. A little pure maple syrup for her to dip made a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Delicious and filling - great for a weekend breakfast, especially if your plans for the day involve a nap! My only issue is the timing - after 20 minutes in boiling water, my sweet potatoes still hadn't cooked all the way through enough to be mash-able. I wound up having to finish the cut up chunks in the microwave and then "mash" them with my immersion blender. But the flavor was great, so adjust the cooking time and try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Pretty good! it's a nice change once in a while from regular pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Realy really good recipe ... made them with left over baked sweet potatoes - other than that followed recipe exactly!!! Sprinkled with cinnamon sugar and maple syrup OMG! Enough said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This is the second time making these and I'm still in love, I added a bit of heavy cream to mine to make the batter a little more rich and smooth. This is the perfect addition to a steak and eggs breakfast. I don't think I'll ever go back to regular pancakes, again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Tasty....but soggy! Maybe I'm not doing something right, but these were very gooey in the middle no matter how long I cooked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaCate's personal chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Very, very wet pancakes...could be because I sift my flour, but I ended up adding more than the recipe called for, and the pancakes were still gooey in the center of many of them. Could be because I also oven-cooked my sweet potatoes and not in the microwave, so they had more moisture?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Amazing as a waffle recipe too! Try it with cinnamon honey butter. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
New favorite! I substituted 1 cup while wheat flour and 1/2 cup rolled oats. They never did fully cook in the middle but they didn't taste raw. I didn't mind it at all. I also baked the sweet potatoes instead of boiling. Top it with creme fraichethat has a bit of maple syrup and cinnamon mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States