Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
excellent! Easy enough to make and my whole family (toddlers too) loved them. Made me feel good that they were getting something more than just syrup! (I did reduce the amount of nutmeg by half and added cinnamon and vanilla).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Loved these! Everyone loved them. A definite repeat at this house. Changes I made after reading other reviews: Subbed 1/2 c flour with oats, added 1/2 tsp cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
The first time I made these I dyslexed the recipe and put in 1.5 lbs of sweet potatoes, but they came out great! This time I followed the instructions and they came out light and soft and pancakey. Fantastic! I like them with a slab of butter and some white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I really enjoyed these pancakes. They didn't come out as sweet as I had hoped, so I compensated with a dollop of whipped cream. That did the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by St. Pauli Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Delicious! I mixed the wet ingredients in my food processor and left them in the fridge overnight; in the morning I added the dry and cooked up these pancakes in bacon grease. Loved it, didn't change a thing! Thanks for a cool recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
These were SO good! I used canned sweet potatoes and I added some sugar, cinnamon, and vanilla extract as others suggested. My boyfriend said they were delicious!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Use one up mashed sweet potatoes (canned or fresh would work fine). I used only a dash of nutmeg and added some cinnamon. Vanilla would also be a good addition. Very tasty and fluffy pancakes. Delicious fall treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Great flavor! The batter did not cook right. The measurement of sweet potatoes is hard to judge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thurmont, Maryland, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
These are fantastic, another way to enjoy sweet potatoes without the gushiness and butter. I topped them with a simple drizzle of confectioner sugar+milk and they were to die for. I wish my wife liked sweet potato, as I'd make these monthly! A fantastic recipe and a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I went super decedent with these by adding some candied pecans on top. The only modification was I used cloves in place of the nutmeg (I find the flavor to usually be overpowering). I was in the mood for some soul food, and these hit the spot. I'd be interested in serving these as a savory dish sometime. Has anyone tried it? Perhaps with some sage butter or something of the like, I could see them working with a protein... just a thought :) I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama_jama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States