Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I was a little disappointed in these. It got good reviews and I love sweet potatoes but they were pretty much flavorless. After we added maple syrup they were a little better but not worth the work. I'm undecided on whether or not I'll give them another try but most likely I'll just make regular pancakes and add some spices to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Absolutely phenomenal. I made it just as directed except half the butter and they were perfect. Drizzled a little honey on top and it was about the best pancake I've ever had (granted I'm a big sweet potato fan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wakipan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
These were moist on the inside, a bit crispy on the outside and had a great flavor. We enjoyed them with maple syrup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Thank you Swizzlesticks for a delicious recipe. We altered just slightly for our tastes and it came out fluffy and delicious. We already had a jumbo sweet potato that was roasted the night before, so we pureed that and it weighed a little over 15 oz, so almost two cups. We added 1 T of brown sugar and 1 tsp of vanilla extract to the wet ingredients. We used a combination of whole wheat flour and white flour (1 cup of ww and 1/2 cup of white). We substituted 1/4 tsp of pumpkin pie spice and 1/4 tsp cinnamon for the nutmeg. Delicious and the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This was fantastic! I did some modifications, but couldn't have done it without the initial recipe. Since I have to eat low fat, I replaced the butter with plain greek yogurt (nonfat), and used 1/2 cup oats for 1/2 cup of the flour. I also added 1 tbs pumpkin pie spice instead of the nutmeg. When cooking, if the batter is thick just spread it out with the back of a spoon or ladle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I added 1/4 cup of shredded coconut and 3 tbsp brown sugar, and served them with cinnamon butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I overdosed on these they were so good. Except I already had sweet potato puree on hand so I didn't have to boil the potatoes. I cut the amount of nutmeg in half and added 1/2 tsp cinnamon. Also, I had to put the stove heat at 4 (medium low) at medium high they would have burnt to a crisp. Ate the pancakes with butter and powdered sugar on top - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
How do you cook these all the way through? I cooked these twice for so long and it was still gooey in the middle both times. I'm disappointed that I wasted two sweet potatoes. I would love to know why they didn't cook through. I'm trying another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Meyers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly W. Ross
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I had Sweet Potato Pancakes recently at a Bed & Breakfast and wanted to try making them on my own. Mine didn't come out as fluffy as those we had before, but I think it's because my sweet potatoes didn't cook soft enough (which I discovered all too late for compensating). I had better luck with using the microwave for about 9 minutes than I did with boiling the sweet potatoes for 15-20 minutes. I had hoped to make several batches of this recipe so I could use up the 2.5 lbs of sweet potatoes I had, but one batch turned out to be so many pancakes that I didn't keep going. Since we do Weight Watchers, I needed to know how many pieces would be in 1 serving... I measured them onto the griddle using a Tablespoon and ended up with 41 small pancakes! So each serving is basically about 5 pancakes if there are 8 servings according to the recipe. I added 1/4 tsp cinnamon, and subbed 1/2 c. Oat Bran in for 1/2 c. of the flour. It took way more than 25 min for me to make these though... more like 2 hrs from start (boiling water) to finish. I usually have a steep learning curve with recipes though, so hopefully next time will be quicker. I plan to freeze the remainder of my batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I followed this recipe to the letter - twice. The batter never cooked all the way through. They also lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States