Louisiana Shrimp Creole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Just made this last night and doubled the recipe. It was so easy and was a HUGE hit. I loved it! ...I actually could've added a bit more hotness to it, but that can be done on a bowl to bowl basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Gave four stars since it needed some minor modifications to make it better: - Instead of cornstarch, used 1/4 cup flour after sauteing veggies in 4 tbsp. butter to make a roux. - Added about 4 oz. of water to thin the sauce out a bit. - Added a dash of cayenne, couple tbsp of salt and pepper as well as some Paul Prudhomme Poultry Magic to give it a little mor flavor and spice. - Coated shrimp in Poultry Magic seasoning before adding to the Creole sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I served this at a dinner party to mixed reviews. Friends who love cajun food and have eaten in Louisiana didn't like it, and complained that it was bland. The others who didn't normally eat cajun food loved it. It's a great dish, but not an authentic Louisiana Creole flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvest, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Very good, I doubled the recipe, except still used one can of diced tomatoes and as always added more hot spices, and some fresh parsley. I used the 2T of corn starch that was suggested for doubled recipe and it was perfect. Served over rice with eggrolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miriam
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This WAS easy to make, and since I was peeling my raw shrimp anyway, I decided to take THEDAD's suggestion to make a stock from the shells. I also used a bit of fresh ground black pepper, and about a tablespoon of dried parsley (but I also needed to double the recipe). My family of finicky eaters LOVED it! I will definately make this again, even if I take some's suggestion to use cut up chicken breast pieces to save a little $$$$.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I just loved this recipe! I didn't happen to have any shrimp so I used cooked, cubed chicken tenderloins instead. I too, only used half of the cornstarch and increased the chile powder and Worchestershire substantially. I wanted plenty of sauce for the rice so I added a can of tomato soup and was really pleased with the little bit of sweetness it provided. I also had some beautiful sliced yellow squash frozen that I cubed and added and was a delicious addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Heironimus Castle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Great! I have never made this before and it was very easy. I agree with one of the other reviewers that said 2 tablespoons of cornstarch is too much. I decreased the amount to 1 tablespoon and also added some water as it was still very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This was very disappointing. I thought it was going to be a lot better than it was. I gave it three stars because I was hoping that maybe because I had to substitute some of the ingredients it didn't come out as good. It just didn't have that wow factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Tasty. Tripled the chili powder and hot sauce, still wasn't spicy enough for me! Just a note: make sure you saute your celery longer & separately or chop it fine. Otherwise, it will stay crispy long after your onion and bell pepper are done. I didn't like the crispy celery in mine, but I knew better! Served over rotini pasta, went well together. Will try with crab next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States