Louisiana Shrimp Creole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This stuff is amazing!! I added like 2 or 3 tablespoons of Old Bay seasoning and and instead of the chili powdered I used something called "Slap Yo Momma"... It's a Southern thing ;) But very spicy and yummy. It wasn't too hot at all. I added the stewed tomatoes and okra that I precooked. OMG it was DELISH!!!! and I didn't use the tomato sauce. This was soooo good and everyone loved it! Thank you so much for the recipie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miemaleadres

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
We brought back 25 pounds of shrimp from the Gulf. After looking at all the recipes for creole, this one seemed to be the best. We absolutely loved it! Made the recipe exactly as stated. So glad you offered it. This is definitely a KEEPER. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESTWINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This was really good. I served this with rice and a side of turnip and mustard greens. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Deevah Socialite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snow Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Nice, simple and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springville, Utah, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Recipe was very easy to prepare. I did substitute 2 cans of Rotel for the stewed tomatoes to give it a little more kick. Very good and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Guidry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeanerette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lydia, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
We had this recipe tonight for dinner. It was really good. I did add old bay seasoning as suggested before and only 1 tbs of corn starch. It came out great. We will definetly have this recipe again and again. Even my 1 and 3 year old ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This shrimp creole was great, and, having lived most of my life in Louisiana, I have had my share of shrimp creole! This was the first time I ever made it, however. I sifted through the recipes on this website, and the ingredients and method of preparation looked to be the closest to authentic Louisiana shrimp creole, so this is the one I prepared. It was not only delicious, but really healthy compared to most Louisiana food! I highly recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I made this for a Mardi Gras party and it went over very well. Easy to make and very good. I agree with other that 2T of corn starch was to much. I will make it with just 1 next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystalathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This was very disappointing. I made these changes and it turned out fantastic. First I used tomatoes with chillies and peppers, cut the cornstarch in half, tripled the chili powder,added 1/2 teaspoon creole seasoning and added 1/2 teaspoon old bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This tasted just ok, but I'm going to rate it a 4 because its easy to make and because my boyfriend, who's stingy on stars and only gave it a 3, did say he would eat it again. I added cajun seasoning, paprika, and tripled the amount of chili powder and hot sauce and still found this lacking flavor (although it had plenty of heat!). I will continue to look for a restaurant quality recipe but will keep this one on hand for a quick meal. Oh yeah, I also used only 1 tbsp of corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States