Louisiana Shrimp Creole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I made this for a Mardi Gras party and it went over very well. Easy to make and very good. I agree with other that 2T of corn starch was to much. I will make it with just 1 next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystalathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This was very disappointing. I made these changes and it turned out fantastic. First I used tomatoes with chillies and peppers, cut the cornstarch in half, tripled the chili powder,added 1/2 teaspoon creole seasoning and added 1/2 teaspoon old bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This tasted just ok, but I'm going to rate it a 4 because its easy to make and because my boyfriend, who's stingy on stars and only gave it a 3, did say he would eat it again. I added cajun seasoning, paprika, and tripled the amount of chili powder and hot sauce and still found this lacking flavor (although it had plenty of heat!). I will continue to look for a restaurant quality recipe but will keep this one on hand for a quick meal. Oh yeah, I also used only 1 tbsp of corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Just made this last night and doubled the recipe. It was so easy and was a HUGE hit. I loved it! ...I actually could've added a bit more hotness to it, but that can be done on a bowl to bowl basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Gave four stars since it needed some minor modifications to make it better: - Instead of cornstarch, used 1/4 cup flour after sauteing veggies in 4 tbsp. butter to make a roux. - Added about 4 oz. of water to thin the sauce out a bit. - Added a dash of cayenne, couple tbsp of salt and pepper as well as some Paul Prudhomme Poultry Magic to give it a little mor flavor and spice. - Coated shrimp in Poultry Magic seasoning before adding to the Creole sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I served this at a dinner party to mixed reviews. Friends who love cajun food and have eaten in Louisiana didn't like it, and complained that it was bland. The others who didn't normally eat cajun food loved it. It's a great dish, but not an authentic Louisiana Creole flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvest, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Very good, I doubled the recipe, except still used one can of diced tomatoes and as always added more hot spices, and some fresh parsley. I used the 2T of corn starch that was suggested for doubled recipe and it was perfect. Served over rice with eggrolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miriam
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This WAS easy to make, and since I was peeling my raw shrimp anyway, I decided to take THEDAD's suggestion to make a stock from the shells. I also used a bit of fresh ground black pepper, and about a tablespoon of dried parsley (but I also needed to double the recipe). My family of finicky eaters LOVED it! I will definately make this again, even if I take some's suggestion to use cut up chicken breast pieces to save a little $$$$.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I just loved this recipe! I didn't happen to have any shrimp so I used cooked, cubed chicken tenderloins instead. I too, only used half of the cornstarch and increased the chile powder and Worchestershire substantially. I wanted plenty of sauce for the rice so I added a can of tomato soup and was really pleased with the little bit of sweetness it provided. I also had some beautiful sliced yellow squash frozen that I cubed and added and was a delicious addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States