Louisiana Shrimp Creole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Easy to make, and like a lot of Cajun cooking, you don't have to get the proportions exactly right - I ended up using 4 tablespoons of flour because I didn't have corn starch available, and the 1/2-cup stuff was all approximate. Everyone loved it, and I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This was a delicious base recipe. We like it SPICY, so we were very liberal with the hot sauce, doubled the chili powder, and added red pepper flakes and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I have made Shrimp Creole for years and we love it with a crisp salad and southern biscuits. Since reading the reviews I will have to make it w/the shrimp stock. I don't even have to taste this recipe w/the fresh shrimp stock i know it will be yummy. Thanks to cajun viewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Very good. This is a quick meal doesn't really improve with longer cooking--20 mins. tops. It's better the next day. Additional spices help, but that's a matter of taste, so to speak. I used only a tsp of cornstarch, and won't next time. It turned this light, summery dish into a heavy, gloppy stew. Canned tomatoes (stewed or plain) work fine, but I think fresh (peeled and seeded) would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This had a great taste, but didn't look good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
- butter, cornstarch, chili powder +paprika, cayenne pepper, red pepper flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
My mother made this for many years, but there is one difference which I think will improve that "missing flavor" many of you have talked about. We always added smoked sausage which was sliced and added with the vegetables (you can decrease or eliminate the butter when using sausage). I have used beef or turkey smoked sausage & both taste great....of course turkey is the healthier version. Try it with the sausage....you'll love it! It makes this a 5 star recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Very good basic recipe. Just need to add lots of spices. I didnt add any cornstarch but used some tomatoe paste instead. Will cook this one again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I loved this recipe because it was so simple, and really highlighted the different ingredients. I added a handful of fresh chopped parsley towards the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I followed the recipe as indicated, and it turned out excellent! The only thing was I added less cayenne pepper since I'm not a big fan of spicy food, but other than that, the dish was a success! Thanks for the recipe, will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latinasoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States