Louisiana Shrimp Creole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
But this recipe is exact to a recipe listed in Southern but Lite Cookbook that has been in print since the 80's. So I give a 3 star for copying word for word. To make this taste more "creole", I only use San Marzino canned tomatoes and "cut" in the spices (use 2 tablespoon of Chile Powder), 3-4 tblspoon of Worcestershire sauce, and double the onions and green pepper. I also used 1.5 lbs of small precooked shrimp instead of medium. Mince the garlic and I used 3 cloves. Hot sauce to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Ganzkow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Very good and tasty. I followed the recipe exactly and was surprised that it did not require me to modify to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjacks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
My husband loved it! I did not use the cornstarch, the sauce was thick enough on its own and I added frozen, cut okra. I also cooked the shrimp in a separate pan with butter and Tony Chachere's until they were nearly done and finished cooking them in the sauce. I served it over rice and my husband nearly ate all of it. This recipe is easy to prepare and leaves room to add other ingredients if desired. I will cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
this is a great recipe. but i know what the missing flavor is... yes you do need cajun seasoning, but the real missing flavor is one bay leaf. a few reviews mentioned that, but i can say that i've made it w/ and without and it makes a big difference. a bay leaf makes any type of stew better. it's an underlying flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This recipe is good, but needs more flavor. It may taste better tomorrow. My husband loved it. The sauce is too thick, and next time I will try less cornstarch, and may add a little more chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Went to a restaurant and my wife decided to order the special, which was Shrimp Creole". Tasting it, I thought how easy it must be. Looked up this recipe and have made it for her around 20 times. Excellent, but I kick it up with more Chili Powder and Pepper Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailor55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
This was so easy to make and my family liked it. I used flour as I did not have corn starch to thicken the bas and it was good. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I needed a quick recipe for dinner and had a craving for Creole. The recipe was an excellent fast version and the taste was great. If anything, it needed a little more hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Creole is my favorite dish when we visit NOLA and this was my most successful attempt. I substituted creole seasoning for the chili powder (adding a little more as mentioned by other reviewers) and doubled the onions, peppers, celery and garlic. I followed directions from that point and it turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Very bland. I added cayenne and bayleaf, and wish I had added a LOT more onions, bell pepper, and celery and a lot LESS tomato. No tomato sauce next time. Better to cook a little longer and get real flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States