Louisiana Shrimp Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Surprisingly good - have to admit I wasn't expecting much, but needed to use up some shrimp with something fast. I did change it a bit out of necessity. I didn't realize until I was halfway into it that I didn't have any cream of shrimp... or cream of mushroom! I wound up using low-fat cream of chicken. (So I may have used a bit more sour cream to make up for the low-fat!) I didn't have mushrooms but did have celery, so cooked that with the onion, and added a few shakes of a seasoning mix called "Gobs of Garlic" that we get at the Garlic Festival or county fair. It could have still used more seasoning, as most recipes with canned soup always need. I also used regular rice, not instant, so the whole recipe took slightly longer. My 12 year old pronounced this "good", and that's high praise coming from her!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Love this! I subbed Greek yogurt for sour cream and added onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie B Watt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I think it needs more rice because the sauce was alot compared to the rice . Also maybe, more fresh flavor with herbs or a green veggie like spinach or broccoli. Good concept and will make again with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I made this dish, and we absolutely loved it! We don't have Cream of Shrimp soup down here in Costa Rica, so I went with Cream of Mushroom and we just loved it! I used basmati rice instead of the instant stuff (once you've had basmati, you'll never have the regular plain ole rice again!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
It's a great recipe. I added sausages, salt, pepper and Slap Your Momma seasoning. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Super easy to make and very good. I would, next time, marinate the shrimp in something with a little spice first. Or sprinkle with a bit of cayenne or Old Bay Seasoning first. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
cooked rice in chick broth, sauteed shrimp in butter, onion and garlic, also added string beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Delicious, all I added was garlic to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I love love this. It is so simple and easy to make. Will try next time with a few more seafood seasons just to kick it up a notch but it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pchanner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This was good. I added Cajun seasoning and some green onion. Skipped the mushrooms. It was very rich though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA
Living In: Flint, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States