Louisiana Crawfish Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lita lee
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I used shrimp instead of crawfish, since most recipes are good for both. I used chopped tomato instead of canned tomato sauce, seafood stock instead of water, and added a half a teaspoon of slap your mama Cajun seasoning. Not sure why other recipes are using canned soup but good ingredients make a good etouffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
OH MY GOSH!! So simple and delicious. My first ever etoufee and I could not stop eating it!! I took it for lunch to work and everyone wanted a taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wylie's Wife
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I am from southwest Louisiana and I approve. This is a super yummy and super easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crecookin89
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I agree great basic recipe, only because i tweaked to my taste buds. 1)instead of water use chicken broth 2)i used swai fish fillets (cut into bite sized pieces and shrimp) 3) season seafood with salt,garlic/onion powders, oregano, basil, cayenne, crushed red pepper flakes, chipoltle chilli pepper,a dash of old bay, celery seed, tumeric, & a dash of chilli powder. 4) i sautéed some frozen green bell peppers with the onions. Also instead of seasoning the base with cajun seasoning(i don't use it AT ALL) i seasoned it with a little salt, small dash of celery seed and a dash of cayenne. WIth these modification a solid 5. Also to the rice i added parsley flakes for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crecookin89

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I have been using this recipe since the first time I cooked this dish. I add more tony's though. My family and friends love it and so do I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Cantonment, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Loved this recipe! Added half a can of rotel and half a can of sweet corn to make it a little more hearty. The rotel added some heat too. Will definitely add this recipe to our family's menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This was a great base recipe, and very easy. Next time I will add some more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Excellent. Didn't change a thing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Excellent!!!! We enjoyed this recipe so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TabbyT
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Just made this and it was great! Doubled the recipe in some places by adding more crawfish, green onions, flour, onions and garlic. I did add 8 cups of water and it was somewhat soupy at first, but I fixed that with more flour and let it simmer a bit longer. After it set, it was awesome, and everyone loved it!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States