Louisiana Crawfish Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
For Kerms, the water is supposed to be for the rice. Not the etouffee. I think that was your mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Yuko Shikina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I tried to make this etouffee and it was a disaster! I think the measurements might be wrong. With 3/4 cup of butter (that's a stick and a half of butter) and 6 cups of water, I basically ended up with butter soup. The recipe only calls for a couple of tablespoons of tomato sauce. Within 6 cups of water, that doesn't do anything. Maybe its supposed to be tomato paste? I'm not sure what I did wrong, but I basically ended up with melted butter floating on top of slightly tinted water. I ended up having to throw the whole thing out. It was very disappointing because all the shrimp (I didn't have crawfish) was wasted. Maybe I did something wrong, if so please tell me! I was so excited when I read the other reviews. Mine just didn't turn out anything like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Super easy! I am from Louisiana and agree with other reviews...etouffee should not contain canned soups! My entire family enjoys this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I am from Louisiana, born and raised, and as Cajun as it gets. This is how we make crawfish etouffee. Everybody's recipe is a little different. Most Cajuns put the "Trinity" in their etouffee. The Trinity is a compliment of seasonings that go together very well- bellpepper, celery, and onion. My family adds celery, and the only reason we leave the bellpepper out is because I am allergic to it. Great recipe. Bon appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrankiAndPaul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This was very tasty but I made a few modifications. I only used 1 stick of butter, added a green bell pepper to saute with the onion, increased to 2 cloves of garlic, and increased tomato sauce to about 4-5 Tbsp. I cooked the sauce and then in the last few minutes I added some frozen crawfish tails and shrimp left over from a crawfish boil that I thawed (they were already cooked). Very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Had to rate this a 5 to offset Kern's review. The 3 cups of water are to cook the rice in, not to add to the Etouffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I just made this last night and I was so glad it really was as easy as it seemed. The flavor was wonderful! The only thing I would change is the amount of onion in the beginning. It was a bit too much for my taste. I also added shrimp since I didn't have enough crawfish. It was SOOOO GOOD! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Way too bland. Great base for an etouffee recipe but if prepared just as the recipe was written, I’d actually give it 2 ½ stars. However, I jazzed it up with the following: 1 bell pepper, chopped 2 stalks celery, chopped cayenne pepper, several dashes Louisiana Hot Sauce, several dashes 6 Garlic cloves 10 green onions 6 teaspoons Tony’s Cajun Seasoning 1 stick of unsalted butter 3 tablespoons olive oil 3 tablespoons tomato paste instead of using tomato sauce With the above additions, I give it a solid 4 stars. ****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is a great basic recipe for etouffee. I tweak it just a little. I use chicken broth in place of water and add two chopped green bell peppers when sauteeing the onions. The chicken broth gives the etouffee a full rich flavor. I also don't measure the broth but eyeball it to the right gravy like consistency. Absolutely delicious! Also... I serve my etouffee over mashed potatoes instead of rice... If you have not tried this PLEASE do! Very yummy comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This dish was very easy to prepare. I used shrimp instead of crawfish. I served it over white rice and was a resounding success with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreekBoy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States