Louisiana Crawfish Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
amazingly easy recipe. this was my first try at cajun and it was wonderful! very quick and easy. the store didn't have crawfish so i substituted shrimp. it wasn't spicy enough for me so i added more tony's to taste. thanks for this recipe i'll make it plenty more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
To the user Kerms, and any one else who had the problem where to etouffee had too much liquid: The 6 cups of water is to boil the rice!! Don't put that much water in your etouffee! If you do find that you added too much water on accident try cooking it uncovered, stirring constantly over medium heat to cook some water out. Also, etouffees usually will thicken up if you let them stand. Remember that rice will absorb a lot of juice when you combine them, so you may find it better to have a little more liquid than you originally intended. As a last resort if you just have too much water, you can always add more flour by slowly stirring it in. Otherwise, this is a very solid recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
My husband is orginally from Louisiana and loves this receipe. I did make a few changes: 1 can of tomato sauce and extra garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Good, but I used tomato paste. I buy it in a tube so you don't have to waste the can and I put a lot of red pepper in it. My husband loves it hot and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Quick, easy, and very tasty. Might add some Sriracha next time for some spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UncleSkeleton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
The first time I made it I hadn't made a roux before, so it was too thick, but still tasted good. The second time I think I got it right. I took it to a movie night/pot luck. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lone Cheese

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
3.5 stars overall. I was a raised on a variation of this recipe, but I gave this one a shot for something a little different. I found the suggested amount of seasoning was too salty, but the directions did say "or to taste." My real complaints are that it's very thick and I had to double the amount of water t thin it and there was way too much diced onion. My husband complained that it gave him a stomach ache. OH well, worth a try, but I'll stick with my stepmom's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Awesome, classic Louisiana recipe. I HAD to rate a 5 to offset the person who didn't understand to use the 6 cups of water for the rice! Thanks for printing this Bonniet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This was delicious! I only made a few modifications.... added about 1/3 can of Tomatoe Sauce, 2 cloves of garlic and approx 2.5 tbls of cajun seasoning (maybe alittle more- I kept sprinkling it in for taste). Everything else stayed the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This recipe was fantastic! It was so easy and tasty. Kerms it seems like what you did was mix it incorrectly. The 6 cups of water is used for cooking the 3 cups of rice. That would be done separate from the other part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Bettis Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States