Louisiana Crawfish Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I liked this recipe. The consistency was a little bit too thick, but not overly so. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This was very tasty but I made a few modifications. I only used 1 stick of butter, added a green bell pepper to saute with the onion, increased to 2 cloves of garlic, and increased tomato sauce to about 4-5 Tbsp. I cooked the sauce and then in the last few minutes I added some frozen crawfish tails and shrimp left over from a crawfish boil that I thawed (they were already cooked). Very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I loved this! Next time I will leave out the onions in the beginning though. My husband and I don't really care for them and found that they weren't really needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaV

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Extremely easy and delicious. I cut rice down to half, cut back on butter and used my own Cajun Seasoning which does not contain salt. Absolutely first class. Also used the heads from the crawfish to make a stock which I used to make the rice and the one cup of water for the etouffee. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Easy and delicious! I'm from Louisiana but don't get to eat the good stuff too often since moving away. I made a few changes: used only 1/2 cup of butter (1 stick) to reduce fat a little, about 1/2 of an onion, no-salt tomato sauce, omitted salt and pepper, and cut Tony's to 1 TBSP - my husband's a wimp. : ) Still got rave reviews! May add an extra clove of garic next time. Will add this one to my recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
this came out delicious , my wife loved it , i made it, per the recipe instructions , but left out the tomato sauce,highly recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fe504

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
For Kerms, the water is supposed to be for the rice. Not the etouffee. I think that was your mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Kerms - the first part of the recipe - the six cups of water and rice part - was just to make the rice. Sounds like you combined all that together. I can see how it confused you. Sorry you wasted your shrimp. Try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I tried to make this etouffee and it was a disaster! I think the measurements might be wrong. With 3/4 cup of butter (that's a stick and a half of butter) and 6 cups of water, I basically ended up with butter soup. The recipe only calls for a couple of tablespoons of tomato sauce. Within 6 cups of water, that doesn't do anything. Maybe its supposed to be tomato paste? I'm not sure what I did wrong, but I basically ended up with melted butter floating on top of slightly tinted water. I ended up having to throw the whole thing out. It was very disappointing because all the shrimp (I didn't have crawfish) was wasted. Maybe I did something wrong, if so please tell me! I was so excited when I read the other reviews. Mine just didn't turn out anything like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
VERY rich, but worth the splurge. I prepared as the recipe indicated. My teenage children didn't 'oooo and ahhh' but that was fine with me - made more leftovers to take for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeMama71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winslow, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States