Louisiana Crawfish Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Please note, the water amounts were for the rice + the etouffee. I'm sure if I had made this correctly I would have rated it at least 4 stars, but I can't give this a 5-star review because it was so vague in the directions. It took me reading the other reviews to figure out where it went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I made this recipe on Sunday and it was great! I do believe there is a little confusion about what to do with the 6 cups of water. Is it for the rice or the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is an excellent recipe! The only sub I make is I use half the butter and replace the other half with EVOO, it is a very creamy, smooth sauce that I find myself craving :) LOVE IT!! I get frozen Crawdad meat at Wal-Mart (Who Knew??) I make this all the time and my hubby LOVES IT :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. I cooked exactly as indicated (no extra water here) and it was basically a tasteless butter/onion slop. That's not etouffee. Two tablespoons of canned tomato sauce is ridiculous - this needs more tomato punch than that. I've had etouffee (the real stuff) many times and this just isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This was excellent! We did not have any crawfish available to us so I used mini shrimp instead. I also did not have any tomato sauce so I used pizza sauce instead and it still tasted amazing. I found there was a bit too much rice though. I also cut down the amount of Cajun seasoning to 1/2 tbsp but next time I would add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
What a wonderful and simple recipe. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I made this last night, it was so easy and quick and not to mention delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and used craw fish tails from the freezer section. I served with the rice and a buttermilk biscuit (Pillsbury frozen). Wonderful recipe, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA
Living In: Argyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Way too bland. Great base for an etouffee recipe but if prepared just as the recipe was written, I’d actually give it 2 ½ stars. However, I jazzed it up with the following: 1 bell pepper, chopped 2 stalks celery, chopped cayenne pepper, several dashes Louisiana Hot Sauce, several dashes 6 Garlic cloves 10 green onions 6 teaspoons Tony’s Cajun Seasoning 1 stick of unsalted butter 3 tablespoons olive oil 3 tablespoons tomato paste instead of using tomato sauce With the above additions, I give it a solid 4 stars. ****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was extremely easy to make, although I did think I was going to mess it up when adding the flour. But it came out great and taste just like I thought it would! Thanks for the easy yet tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I've used this recipe several times and have been extremely pleased with the results. I made the mistake of measuring the Cajun seasoning in teaspoons instead of tbsp. Using the listed amount gives a nice kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States