Louisiana Crawfish Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I made this last week and it was great! Very easy. And to the review below it is 6 cups of water for the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Those of you that are making "butter soup" with this recipe, you are passing over the first step. The rice is supposed to be cooked seperatly, the etouffee is a topping for the rice. It is an easy 2 step recipe-- I love this recipe, it is super easy to make and taste wonderful! We always make it when we have leftovers from a crawfish boil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Great recipe, made a few changes to suit our tastes but it worked super!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Please note, the water amounts were for the rice + the etouffee. I'm sure if I had made this correctly I would have rated it at least 4 stars, but I can't give this a 5-star review because it was so vague in the directions. It took me reading the other reviews to figure out where it went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I made this recipe on Sunday and it was great! I do believe there is a little confusion about what to do with the 6 cups of water. Is it for the rice or the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is an excellent recipe! The only sub I make is I use half the butter and replace the other half with EVOO, it is a very creamy, smooth sauce that I find myself craving :) LOVE IT!! I get frozen Crawdad meat at Wal-Mart (Who Knew??) I make this all the time and my hubby LOVES IT :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. I cooked exactly as indicated (no extra water here) and it was basically a tasteless butter/onion slop. That's not etouffee. Two tablespoons of canned tomato sauce is ridiculous - this needs more tomato punch than that. I've had etouffee (the real stuff) many times and this just isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This was excellent! We did not have any crawfish available to us so I used mini shrimp instead. I also did not have any tomato sauce so I used pizza sauce instead and it still tasted amazing. I found there was a bit too much rice though. I also cut down the amount of Cajun seasoning to 1/2 tbsp but next time I would add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
What a wonderful and simple recipe. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I made this last night, it was so easy and quick and not to mention delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and used craw fish tails from the freezer section. I served with the rice and a buttermilk biscuit (Pillsbury frozen). Wonderful recipe, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA
Living In: Argyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States