Louisiana Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Unfortunately, I didn't have the horseradish, and I think that's why I wasn't too impressed with this. It was good, but that's my fault for leaving out an integral ingredient of the recipe. Shame on me; well, I've just added horseradish to my grocery list. Thanks Ruby, I'll do it right next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Not really impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Telford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I halved the recipe but kept the amount of crabmeat the same. Also added Old Bay seasoning to taste (more than a tsp, less than a tbl) and a few more dashes of tabasco. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I made this for a New Orleans themed dinner party and my guests loved it! I made it with canned lump crab and I used 1 full teaspoon of Tabasco. When I make it again, I will probably use 2 teaspoons because I like my food hot. I loved that it was creamy and warm and I served it with Club crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This isn't really bad, but it's not really good, either. That's why I gave it 3 stars - I feel pretty neutral about it. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding a little extra crab and some Old Bay. Even with these additions it was still pretty bland. I also used less onion because 1 onion would be way too much. No one at my party complained, but hardly anyone ate any. Though it's better than some crab dips I have tried, I still won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I really did like this, but it tasted (a lot) like cream cheese. I used the right horseradish, but it didn't have the kick I was expecting. I will probably add way more horseradish and/or tobasco next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rantoul, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jackson, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
No complaints about this recipe. It was good - not great. Everyone at my party probably had two/three bites. I added a little more Louisiana to it (cayenne pepper) because it is a very subtle dish and I wanted a bit more spice. Next time I will cut this recipe in half. I had a ton left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBT24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Rather bland - won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
1/4 teaspoon hot sauce for a cajun dish? I started out thinking that was odd, but thought maybe the horseradish would make up for it. My only addition at first was to add shrimp. After 30 minutes of cooking, I took it out of the oven but it was still a little runny so I was going to put it back in the oven and decided to taste it first. I had to get busy and start adding red pepper flakes, green onion tops, bay seasoning and black pepper. I think it's a great base, but certainly not enough heat for a dish that is from Louisiana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This was an okay crab dip. Not a lot of great flavors...mostly cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States