Louisiana Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Unfortunately, I didn't have the horseradish, and I think that's why I wasn't too impressed with this. It was good, but that's my fault for leaving out an integral ingredient of the recipe. Shame on me; well, I've just added horseradish to my grocery list. Thanks Ruby, I'll do it right next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Not really impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Telford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I halved the recipe but kept the amount of crabmeat the same. Also added Old Bay seasoning to taste (more than a tsp, less than a tbl) and a few more dashes of tabasco. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I made this for a New Orleans themed dinner party and my guests loved it! I made it with canned lump crab and I used 1 full teaspoon of Tabasco. When I make it again, I will probably use 2 teaspoons because I like my food hot. I loved that it was creamy and warm and I served it with Club crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This isn't really bad, but it's not really good, either. That's why I gave it 3 stars - I feel pretty neutral about it. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding a little extra crab and some Old Bay. Even with these additions it was still pretty bland. I also used less onion because 1 onion would be way too much. No one at my party complained, but hardly anyone ate any. Though it's better than some crab dips I have tried, I still won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I really did like this, but it tasted (a lot) like cream cheese. I used the right horseradish, but it didn't have the kick I was expecting. I will probably add way more horseradish and/or tobasco next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rantoul, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jackson, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
No complaints about this recipe. It was good - not great. Everyone at my party probably had two/three bites. I added a little more Louisiana to it (cayenne pepper) because it is a very subtle dish and I wanted a bit more spice. Next time I will cut this recipe in half. I had a ton left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBT24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Rather bland - won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
1/4 teaspoon hot sauce for a cajun dish? I started out thinking that was odd, but thought maybe the horseradish would make up for it. My only addition at first was to add shrimp. After 30 minutes of cooking, I took it out of the oven but it was still a little runny so I was going to put it back in the oven and decided to taste it first. I had to get busy and start adding red pepper flakes, green onion tops, bay seasoning and black pepper. I think it's a great base, but certainly not enough heat for a dish that is from Louisiana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This was an okay crab dip. Not a lot of great flavors...mostly cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States