Lots O'Veggies Sausage Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Very tasty and the fam loved it too! I did two cans of crushed tomatoes and a large can of paste after reading some of the other comments about it being too watery and it turned out great. Definitely saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I made this recipe as shown (except I assumed you add the meat back in before you start simmering). It was absolutely delicious!!! The only thing was that I had a problem in the kitchen and by the time it was resolved, I didn't have the full three hours to simmer the sauce and it wasn't completely blended/stewed. I'm assuming it would be if cooked completely. The combination of flavors is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Excellent! I have changed a few things, like the sausages: I had left overs bbqd sausages that i used, didnt add sugar just a hint of agave sirup ( that i will not use the next time as i blv the veggies r giving a perfectly delicate sweet taste especially if u add more onions and carrots) and one tspn of mustard - european kind- not the regular one and white pepper with a hint of chilli sauce as additional spices. I added just one can of tomatoes. Can b used for pasta but I'm not a fan. I've cut the cooking time to 40min. Just perfect! Thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Loved it....used all lean Italian chicken sausage out of the casing and crumbled....sauteed that with all of the veggies and then transfered all of that in to my slow cooker with all other ingredients to cook slowly all day. Great and chunky on whole grain pasta! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I used all red peppers and I used one large can crushed tomatoes and one large DRAINED can of diced tomatoes. This was good but both my husband and I thought the thyme was overpowering everything else in the sauce, so much so that noone really enjoyed it. I'll make this again but I'd cut way back on the thyme--then re-review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This was an OUTSTANDING recipe! I was a little apprehensive getting into the recipe and finding all of the editing errors, but this sauce cooked up rich and delicious. What a wonderful alternative to more traditional sauces. I basically followed the recipe as written, used about 6 oz choppped mushrooms and about 4 oz fresh chopped fresh spinach. I used two 28 oz plus one 14 oz cans diced tomatoes, and used dried herbs. A little more sugar, and some red pepper flakes. I also added a 14 oz can of beef broth, and simmmered this for a full 6 hours( about an hour uncovered, too) before serving over thin spaghetti and parm cheese. Just wonderful. Dinner and three freezer bags full. We will be eating this in 2012 for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
We made this exactly as written, except for the carrots (I forgot to buy them). The recipe instructions do not include every step for some reason--this should be edited to include adding the meat with the veggie mixture before simmering. I can see how this would make a wonderful lasagna sauce! My husband & daughter opted to eat it over spaghetti, and I ate it out of a bowl with garlic bread. We loved it, loved the vegetable content, loved the fresh flavor, loved everything! Just don't expect a super thick sauce, it has no tomato paste or thickening agent--but it is wonderful without it, and you don't feel heavy after eating it. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Really good, chunky and thick! I loved all the veggies in this! I had to use dried thyme and oregano, but did put the fresh basil in at the last minute. Only addition was a pinch of red pepper flake for a smidge of heat. I'm going to give this one to my daughter-in-law so she can get more veggies in her boys. Thanks debrasteward!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This was ok. My wife added chicken broth for some extra liquid but... she added too much so it came out rather liquidy.. Probably would have been better as a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Great recipe, I made a few changes based on what I had on hand. But I loved the idea of adding frozen spinach to the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States