Lots O'Veggies Sausage Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Yum! I ended up blending about two-thirds of the sauce to make it smoother and to "hide" the veggies from the kids. Everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This was an OUTSTANDING recipe! I was a little apprehensive getting into the recipe and finding all of the editing errors, but this sauce cooked up rich and delicious. What a wonderful alternative to more traditional sauces. I basically followed the recipe as written, used about 6 oz choppped mushrooms and about 4 oz fresh chopped fresh spinach. I used two 28 oz plus one 14 oz cans diced tomatoes, and used dried herbs. A little more sugar, and some red pepper flakes. I also added a 14 oz can of beef broth, and simmmered this for a full 6 hours( about an hour uncovered, too) before serving over thin spaghetti and parm cheese. Just wonderful. Dinner and three freezer bags full. We will be eating this in 2012 for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I ussully make complete recipes as stated, but I didn't have mushrooms, a red pepper or zucchini. i also only used 1 28oz can of whole tomatoes that I smashed and 1 can of tomato sauce. I only used Italian sausage as well. Plus only cooked it for an hour because thats all the time I had. Was very tastey and I will be making it the original way next time. My family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Highly recommended...check out the nutrition info! A little high in fat (for me) but off-the-charts high on vitamins and minerals. Considering using half as much meat next time; this sauce is rich and thick. I'm freezing, so have not yet added the herbs; already super delicious. Followed the recipe except: hot Italian sausage instead of sweet; half the mushrooms, chopped; no olive oil (which would reduce the fat level cited in the nutrition info); one intitution-sized can of crushed tomatoes (102 oz) in place of 3 - 28 oz cans diced (84 oz). Slight changes in methods; saves a dirty pan and flavors veggies. Plus, recipe doesn't say WHAT to do with the reserved 'drippings'. Crumble meat in large pot and start browning; chop and add onion; shred and add carrot. (Carrots need to cook longer than peppers and zucchini.) Dump into colander to drain fat, if needed. Put entire mixture back into pot. Add peppers, zucchini, and mushroooms. Saute until just tender. Add tomatoes, then spinach, and then simmer. I ended up with this huge can of tomatoes because it was all I could find without added corn syrup. I don't plan to add sugar to the sauce, either, altho at times a tiny bit of sugar may be needed in tomato sauces. Not in this one, with all the veggies. Doesn't taste a bit acidic. Anyway, LOVE this sauce. Try it, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
i loved this! had to use turky italian style sausage and omit the ground beef, but kept it the same otherwise. i could eat the sauce by itself it was so good. my 3 year old didn't eat it, i think maby the sausage was too spicy for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
My husband and I very much enjoyed this recipe this evening. This is what I did... I didn't add the italian sausage or the third can of tomatoes (I didn't have them). I only added half the package of spinach (and it was still frozen because I was running out of time). I thought it was just the right amount. The recipe doesn't state this, but I added the meat into the sauce then covered to simmer. I knew we would enjoy this recipe because I usually make a quicky spaghetti sauce with store bought sauce, ground beef and a package of frozen italian vegetable blend thrown in it. Thanks for sharing! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Very good and hearty. Great over paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
We made this exactly as written, except for the carrots (I forgot to buy them). The recipe instructions do not include every step for some reason--this should be edited to include adding the meat with the veggie mixture before simmering. I can see how this would make a wonderful lasagna sauce! My husband & daughter opted to eat it over spaghetti, and I ate it out of a bowl with garlic bread. We loved it, loved the vegetable content, loved the fresh flavor, loved everything! Just don't expect a super thick sauce, it has no tomato paste or thickening agent--but it is wonderful without it, and you don't feel heavy after eating it. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Yummy sauce. I did, however, used canned tomatoes. Delicious, served over penne pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Really good, chunky and thick! I loved all the veggies in this! I had to use dried thyme and oregano, but did put the fresh basil in at the last minute. Only addition was a pinch of red pepper flake for a smidge of heat. I'm going to give this one to my daughter-in-law so she can get more veggies in her boys. Thanks debrasteward!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States