Lots O'Veggies Sausage Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I used all red peppers and I used one large can crushed tomatoes and one large DRAINED can of diced tomatoes. This was good but both my husband and I thought the thyme was overpowering everything else in the sauce, so much so that noone really enjoyed it. I'll make this again but I'd cut way back on the thyme--then re-review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
My husband and I very much enjoyed this recipe this evening. This is what I did... I didn't add the italian sausage or the third can of tomatoes (I didn't have them). I only added half the package of spinach (and it was still frozen because I was running out of time). I thought it was just the right amount. The recipe doesn't state this, but I added the meat into the sauce then covered to simmer. I knew we would enjoy this recipe because I usually make a quicky spaghetti sauce with store bought sauce, ground beef and a package of frozen italian vegetable blend thrown in it. Thanks for sharing! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
We made this exactly as written, except for the carrots (I forgot to buy them). The recipe instructions do not include every step for some reason--this should be edited to include adding the meat with the veggie mixture before simmering. I can see how this would make a wonderful lasagna sauce! My husband & daughter opted to eat it over spaghetti, and I ate it out of a bowl with garlic bread. We loved it, loved the vegetable content, loved the fresh flavor, loved everything! Just don't expect a super thick sauce, it has no tomato paste or thickening agent--but it is wonderful without it, and you don't feel heavy after eating it. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Highly recommended...check out the nutrition info! A little high in fat (for me) but off-the-charts high on vitamins and minerals. Considering using half as much meat next time; this sauce is rich and thick. I'm freezing, so have not yet added the herbs; already super delicious. Followed the recipe except: hot Italian sausage instead of sweet; half the mushrooms, chopped; no olive oil (which would reduce the fat level cited in the nutrition info); one intitution-sized can of crushed tomatoes (102 oz) in place of 3 - 28 oz cans diced (84 oz). Slight changes in methods; saves a dirty pan and flavors veggies. Plus, recipe doesn't say WHAT to do with the reserved 'drippings'. Crumble meat in large pot and start browning; chop and add onion; shred and add carrot. (Carrots need to cook longer than peppers and zucchini.) Dump into colander to drain fat, if needed. Put entire mixture back into pot. Add peppers, zucchini, and mushroooms. Saute until just tender. Add tomatoes, then spinach, and then simmer. I ended up with this huge can of tomatoes because it was all I could find without added corn syrup. I don't plan to add sugar to the sauce, either, altho at times a tiny bit of sugar may be needed in tomato sauces. Not in this one, with all the veggies. Doesn't taste a bit acidic. Anyway, LOVE this sauce. Try it, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Yum! I ended up blending about two-thirds of the sauce to make it smoother and to "hide" the veggies from the kids. Everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I recommend not adding the fresh basil till the end. 3 hours in sauce will just kill the whole point of adding fresh herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Delicious! I used sweet Italian turkey sausage and ground turkey to make it healthier. I only added in two cans of the diced tomatoes, but used a 15 oz can of tomato sauce as well as some tomato paste to thicken it. It would've been too watery without the sauce and paste. I used fresh spinach rather than frozen. It makes a ton for two people, so I froze 2/3's of it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
i loved this! had to use turky italian style sausage and omit the ground beef, but kept it the same otherwise. i could eat the sauce by itself it was so good. my 3 year old didn't eat it, i think maby the sausage was too spicy for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I modified the recipe for cooking in a slow cooker. It came out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kriston Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Great recipe, I made a few changes based on what I had on hand. But I loved the idea of adding frozen spinach to the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States