Lots O'Veggies Sausage Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Great recipe, I made a few changes based on what I had on hand. But I loved the idea of adding frozen spinach to the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I recommend not adding the fresh basil till the end. 3 hours in sauce will just kill the whole point of adding fresh herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Delicious! I used sweet Italian turkey sausage and ground turkey to make it healthier. I only added in two cans of the diced tomatoes, but used a 15 oz can of tomato sauce as well as some tomato paste to thicken it. It would've been too watery without the sauce and paste. I used fresh spinach rather than frozen. It makes a ton for two people, so I froze 2/3's of it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
i loved this! had to use turky italian style sausage and omit the ground beef, but kept it the same otherwise. i could eat the sauce by itself it was so good. my 3 year old didn't eat it, i think maby the sausage was too spicy for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Highly recommended...check out the nutrition info! A little high in fat (for me) but off-the-charts high on vitamins and minerals. Considering using half as much meat next time; this sauce is rich and thick. I'm freezing, so have not yet added the herbs; already super delicious. Followed the recipe except: hot Italian sausage instead of sweet; half the mushrooms, chopped; no olive oil (which would reduce the fat level cited in the nutrition info); one intitution-sized can of crushed tomatoes (102 oz) in place of 3 - 28 oz cans diced (84 oz). Slight changes in methods; saves a dirty pan and flavors veggies. Plus, recipe doesn't say WHAT to do with the reserved 'drippings'. Crumble meat in large pot and start browning; chop and add onion; shred and add carrot. (Carrots need to cook longer than peppers and zucchini.) Dump into colander to drain fat, if needed. Put entire mixture back into pot. Add peppers, zucchini, and mushroooms. Saute until just tender. Add tomatoes, then spinach, and then simmer. I ended up with this huge can of tomatoes because it was all I could find without added corn syrup. I don't plan to add sugar to the sauce, either, altho at times a tiny bit of sugar may be needed in tomato sauces. Not in this one, with all the veggies. Doesn't taste a bit acidic. Anyway, LOVE this sauce. Try it, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I ussully make complete recipes as stated, but I didn't have mushrooms, a red pepper or zucchini. i also only used 1 28oz can of whole tomatoes that I smashed and 1 can of tomato sauce. I only used Italian sausage as well. Plus only cooked it for an hour because thats all the time I had. Was very tastey and I will be making it the original way next time. My family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Yum! I ended up blending about two-thirds of the sauce to make it smoother and to "hide" the veggies from the kids. Everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Yummy sauce. I did, however, used canned tomatoes. Delicious, served over penne pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I modified the recipe for cooking in a slow cooker. It came out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kriston Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Very good and hearty. Great over paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States