Lori's White Bread Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2000
Cake was exceedingly sweet. Crust got crunchy from the excess sugar. I baked this in a 9x13 pan, and it took about 1 1/2 hours to test done. I believe the sugar in the recipe is wrong. It had good potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
Lovely texture, great taste. I used soft margarine instead of shortening. I have made it several times now, and it still delights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
Yummy! I cut the sugar in half and it turned out great! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexander, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I rate a number of recipes "5 stars" but then there are the exceptional recipes that there is no way of rating as such. This is one of those recipes. I think I may have just stumbled upon one of the best white cake/pound cake recipes I have ever made. Despite its low rating I reviewed the ingredients list and recognized a classic and accurate ratio of measurements. Most recipes of this type, however, will call for butter. Because this recipe calls for shortening, along with the large number of eggs and sugar, all of which contribute moisture to a cake, I knew I'd be in for one, fine cake! And I was not mistaken. I prepared the recipe exactly as written, using a tsp. of vanilla. When I added the flour and buttermilk, I did so alternately, beginning and ending with the flour and just long enough to combine. I used the batter for cupcakes, which I found took about 23 minutes. I cannot stress enough or overstate the beauty of this cake. It is delightfully moist, perfectly sweet, with a very attractive and tender crumb - and sinfully good. From now on when I make a white cake and I want a guaranteed, perfect result, I will refer to this recipe. I frankly am stumped as to why only three people have reviewed this in 10 years, the recipe's average rating is so deceptively low, and the recipe hasn't been touched in four years! I hope to change that. Lori, this is one beauty of a cake that in my judgement has nothing to do with "white bread." Too bad you can't change the name!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I can't believe there are so few reviews for this fabulous cake! It's a great old fashioned kind of cake much like the kind my Great Grammy used to make. I cut back to two cups of sugar and used a full tsp of vanilla instead of what the recipe called for. It was delicious and a huge hit!! My new absolute "Go To" cake recipe. Wish I could give it more than five stars because it is deserving of ten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flowermamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made this while stranded in a storm. I had to make my own buttermilk. I used 3/4 cup heavy cream and 1/4 cup skim milk and 1 Tb. lemon juice. I also had only butter (not shortening or marg) and everyone literally LOVES the cake. If I was planning this recipe, like when I make it next time, I would serve it with a dollop of whip cream and some rasberries perhaps. Maybe a few flecks of chocolate here and there in plating. I will most definately add this to my recipe file but will not call it "white bread". . .if I would've called it that with my family, they wouldn't have even tried it. Excellent sponge or pound cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
other than cutting back on the sugar (only putting in 2 cups) and adding a full tsp of vanilla i followed this exactly and am very pleased with how it turned out ... the batter does get really thick before adding the milk, i wasnt sure my poor handheld mixer would make it lol very much like pound cake, will definitly use this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
A wonderful tasting cake, although I would't call it light - its like a pound cake - so moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I was disappointed in this recipe after reading all the great reviews. I only used 2 cups of sugar and added 1 tsp of vanilla like some people suggested but I wasn't crazy about the taste. It's reminds me of a pound cake. I frosted it with chocolate frosting but it didn't make much difference. Nobody in my house really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I made half this recipe using a 6-cup bundt pan and I will say, it produced a pretty cake. But the flavor was really lacking, in my opinion. I really missed the butter normally found in pound cakes. My only deviation was to use 1/2 t. of vanilla rather than a dash. In hindsight, I probably should have used more. That might have helped the lack of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States