Lori's White Bread Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
It is an amazingly simple recipe. Made the entire house smell so good. Everyone loved it. Has a bit of a crust to the top but was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
At first, I tried the batter and thought, "this is way too sweet," but then it baked up beautifully. I made 24 cupcakes and about 18 minis. 30 minutes for the regular sized at 325. A very delicious cake! I am so glad I tried it, despite being a little hesitant to because of the name of this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This was decent. I used soy milk instead of buttermilk so I knew there would be a difference there. The texture is like a dense angel food cake. And it tasted a little too eggy for me. Next time, I will try with less eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Delicious! I made 36 cupcakes with this recipe. They baked at 325 for 24-25 minutes. If you make the 'cheese filling' recipe from this site, and drop 1 tsp on each cupcake and 1 or 2 raspberries (before baking) you have fabulous raspberry cheesecake filled cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I chose this cake for it's simplicity, as I just needed a white cake to use for cake pops. As expected, it came together nicely and baked perfect little cupcakes for me to crumble up and use for my client order. Well... I had my boyfriend try them and he said they taste weird. A little bummed, I asked what he meant... oddly enough, he said it tasted like bread. I haven't told him the name of this recipe--I'm always trying new recipes and he often teases me about just sticking with a tried and true favorite--so I'd hate for him to tease me for making this "white bread" cake. :) It's true. It's not as light and tender as a cake ought to be. I made a different white cake recipe last night and did a side by side comparison... strikingly different. While I will not throw out this cake since my coworkers have indiscriminating tastes, I simply cannot and will not use this for a paying client.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This cake was wonderful! My friend who doesn't like cake actually ate a piece after tasting a bite. My husband, while eating his piece, asked to not be disturbed while he was in his 'happy place'. I followed the recipe exactly. I added the wedding cake frosting. Next time, since the cake had such a pleasant vanilla flavor, I think I will try a maple frosting on it. My suggestion to those who struggled with the recipe, don't rush the process. Beat each step well, especially when adding the eggs one at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolene W.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Just tested this out for a party - absolutely heavenly! Tastes nothing like white bread. Angel food cake slightly? Tastes exactly what you'd think of for a classic "birthday cake" taste. I usually don't review recipes I've made changes to but need to share this one. I halved the recipe for testing purposes & so I wouldn't nom a whole cake. Used real butter (margarine, ick!), only 3/4 cup sugar plus 5 drops of liquid stevia as opposed to the 1.5 cups of sugar it would have originally wanted. It was plenty sweet, & not sickeningly so. Added more vanilla. Perfect & sturdy cake for icing & decorating. The crust is just slightly crispy and melts in your mouth, but it did not brown very much at all! It's beautiful. The inside is neither too dense nor too airy/fluffed-up, it's a perfect in-between. Moist but not sticky, not dry at all. Seriously. Good. Cake. Try it. With butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natashap620

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I used Splenda instead of the sugar, as it was for a friend of mine who cannot have sugar. I would have given this recipe only 2 stars, except that maybe it would have been different had I used actual sugar and also, while I was sorely disappointed, my friend loved it. It was the heaviest, most dense cake I have ever had. It was like a brick. I figured with the shortening, eggs and buttermilk, it would be very moist but it was not. I'm not sure how I would change it to improve it but I don't think I'll even be trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I made half this recipe using a 6-cup bundt pan and I will say, it produced a pretty cake. But the flavor was really lacking, in my opinion. I really missed the butter normally found in pound cakes. My only deviation was to use 1/2 t. of vanilla rather than a dash. In hindsight, I probably should have used more. That might have helped the lack of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I was disappointed in this recipe after reading all the great reviews. I only used 2 cups of sugar and added 1 tsp of vanilla like some people suggested but I wasn't crazy about the taste. It's reminds me of a pound cake. I frosted it with chocolate frosting but it didn't make much difference. Nobody in my house really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

American Flag Cake

Each slice of cake is decorated with an American flag. See the simple trick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States