Lorene's Slow Cooker Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I'm kind of perplexed by this recipe. It's not what I think of when I think of Potato Soup. I only cooked mine about 3 1/2 hours on high & the potatoes are mushy & I have a very vintage slow cooker (they don't cook as hot as newer ones). I didn't have any celery so I used celery flakes. I do like dill, but didn't use the full amount. I used low sodium vegetable broth. I have to admit that I do like the broth. After taking a picture of the finished product, I'm going to go tweak it by mashing it up, adding a bit of milk, garlic and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
We thought this recipe was fabulous! I haven't brought out my crock pot in seven years, but I did to make this recipe and it will become a staple in our house. I peeled 3 very large russet potatos and chopped them up, I also added some baby carrots to the recipe. I got tired of shuffling around my spices and couldn't find my dill so I added a garlic and onion seasoning I had. I cooked on low for 8 hours but it was perfectly done in 7 hours. The potatos and the carrots have great flavor and melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Very similar my mom's recipe except doing it on the stop top we sauted the onions in the olive oil and used chicken broth. The picture shows carrots and we alway add them for color but it is not listed in the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Not what I consider potato soup, but very good nonetheless. This would be good for lactose intolerant folks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celest Cox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Edible but VERY, VERY bland. It needs something else. I'm going to try adding bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess Botelho
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I added a small package of frozen corn, some diced green pepper and a little bit of hot sauce. I also used just enough broth to cover HALF, then after the veggies are tender, I mashed the mixture and added milk and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I found using 2 onions really dominated the taste. Next time I make this, I will use just one onion and double up the celery and add some carrots. This has the potential though to be really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Evergreen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I added carrots, bacon, and salt & pepper and everyone liked it. It was a good alternative to the think cheesy potato soups that I have made before. More like a vegetable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Good with carrots & garnished with bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States