Loosemeat Sandwiches II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Yum!! A family favorite, I make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This recipe was or is on the Campbell's Chicken Gumbo soup and I try to keep a can of the soup in my pantry all the time just for these. I like to add black pepper, some dry minced onion, and a little (maybe a half teaspoon) of mustard and Tablespoon of ketchup...to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
While this was easy to make, it was really bland. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I added onion to the ground beef and cooked it. Then I added the chicken gumbo soup and simmered for a few minutes. When I tasted it, though, I knew it needed the other ingredients in an old recipe I have had for years. My recipe included 1 1/2 T. each of mustard and ketchup. I serve it open face on toasted rolls or buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I'm from Iowa too and have eaten these for at least 40 years now - Always Absolutely Awesome!!! You might try adding a couple tablespoons of ketchup and a couple of teaspoons of yellow mustard after the soup - adds a real savory taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
As is, the recipe is a 3. The "Iowa" cook that served these to me added a 1/4 to 1/2 a box of Velvetta cheese to the mix. (Whatever amout of cheese you like!) They called them Made Rights. With the cheese the recipe is a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
We made something similar to this when I grew up in Michigan. We used the Vegetable Alphabet soup by Campbells -I loves these things. I kept thinking I was crazy when I recalled the recipe but upon finding this I decided I've got mix it up again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
We added cayenne to the skillet and ate with hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
So we like to make our sandwiches pretty big i guess 'couse it ends up only making 4. I also simmer for a good while to thicken up the sauce. I've been serving them on these super cute little ciabattinis (mini ciabatta bread). And although I'm not from Iowa i grew up with these as our version of "sloppy joe's". It's one of my favorite easy goto meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sassyassyfrass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I, too, am from Iowa. For as long as I can remember, mom made what she called "Gumbo Burgers." I still make this recipe about once a month for my husband and two year old and they love it! I cook chopped onion with the ground beef and season it well. I also use one entire can of soup plus the chunks of another can. I also bake tater tots to go along side. The meat is also great on top of the tater tots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States